We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$286
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$274
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$263
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$542
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$85
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
289
77
17
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
77
17
5
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 394 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Me and two girlfriends arrived Friday midday and were shown to our beautiful room/apartment on the top floor of the building. We were so happy with it and felt we'd really struck gold.
We left all our stuff there and went out. We got back at around 3am ( we WERE in Amsterdam) only to find that the key to our door didn't work. Naturally, paying £160 a night, we decided we didn't want to sleep on the stairs and so called the hotel owners. Here is where the trouble started. The lady was so incredibly rude to us at first stating "it was not possible" and then attempting to end the conversation with "well I'm sorry we're asleep". Eventually she sent her husband round who was equally rude. Now I understand that it's annoying to get woken up at 3am, but I'm sorry, were paying for this hotel room, the ONE function we require of it is for the door to open to let us in, and when that doesn't happen as the owner you must expect to be contacted to fix the problem, whatever the time. So on finding that it was in fact possible and the door was indeed not working, the husband did cheer up a bit and was apologetic. He showed the three of us to a double room with a big bed that the three of us could sleep in, which was fine.
The next day he had to cut a hole in the door to get in which meant our room was unsecured for a couple of hours while he got something to block the hole. Again, fine, we understood and were grateful that he admitted he didn't know what had happened and told us he was sorry for the inconvenience. He was very pleasant at the point and we genuinely had forgotten the whole incident by the next day.
3 wonderful days passed in our lovely apartment and then it was time to leave.
When we came to pay we were charged full price. As it was an employee we hadn't yet encountered we thought maybe he wasn't aware if the situation so we asked him to call the owner, the lady, to apply our discount. However, when he called she said that we had broken the door and would therefore have to pay for the repairs and by being charged full price that should cover it. We were horrified!! If closing the door is breaking it then yes, we broke it, but clearly, and in fact by her own husbands admission, we had NOT broken the door and she was being completely unreasonable. We saw that we were not going to get any money off. So even though we had paid for an apartment and got an hour long wait on the stairs and ended up in a double room without a window, which I personally think any self respecting hotel owner would have wavered the price of the first night for, we had to pay full price to cover the cost of fixing a door that we did not break.
We were so happy with the room when we first got there, and enthusiastically talked about bringing our boyfriends back to stay in the New York apartment and recommending the place to all our friends, but I'm afraid after this incident I won't be recommending the place to anyone which is a real shame and a bit of a downer on a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniellesimon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thanx for staying with us! To make a long story short: The fact is that there were 3 complete drunken/stoned girls (and we know how English tourist can behave in Amsterdam! :-)) who wake us up in the middle of the night who couldn't open the door. Vomiting 2 times in front of the apartment and my door and breaking a lock of the apartment.
We preserved the service to get it open again, like described. The full charge is not more then reasonable, we didn't charge them for the damage of the lock, but we also didn't feel responsible for giving them a discount because they were completely out of there mind on the moment they ruined the lock. We like to take care of our guest, but when you pass the limit of "normal behavior" you have to be also responsible for that as a guest.

Jan , Novella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my first trip to Amsterdam Jan was an excellent host with Eddie providing a 5 star breakfast .The B&B was full of character and comfort it was in an excellent quiet location i would defiantly go back .

Room Tip: I really liked the green room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Blue Sheep fulfilled our expectations of being able to stay in the old Amsterdam without the noise of the city and with good location for walking to the sites. The Blue room was comfortable, spacious and quiet. There was a warm welcome and hospitality from the staff (Lee and Edgar) and inclusion with the family in conversation. Breakfasts were TASTY, varied and made to your taste. The room had a teapot for hot beverages at our convenience which was really handy. We could hardly believe the age of the house being several hundred years old, it has been well taken care of and improved. What a delightful experience we had with Jan, Novella, their daughter and the grandmother who was visiting from Sicily. We highly recommend a stay at this B&B

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. You have a key to the front door so entry is not a problem. There are spiral staircases in the old houses because they go up and back in design. There is no room for a staircase. This means the toilet is on ground floor and you must take the stairs to use it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

21st Sept to 24th Sept 13. Stayed in he Orange room. Really nice place to stay - central location close to most attractions/pubs/restaurants etc. the hosts are really nice, very friendly and helpful. If you don't mind staying in a B&B then go nowhere else.

Room Tip: As stated on their website - traditional Amsterdam building with steep spiral staircase to the upper rooms. Orange room is on ground level and therefore more suitable for those who stay out late and wobble back home.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you go to visit Amsterdam, for few days or more, the Blue Sheep is right place to stay. Owned by Novella and her wonderful family, this excellent bed&breakfast offers you everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean and well furnished rooms, silent and cozy apartments, delicious and rich breakfast. Novella is that kind of host every traveller looks for: kind, gentle and always ready to give you the right advice to enjoy the city at the best! And of course it's located in a quiet street, pretty close to Joordan, Daam square and the main attractions. Definitely the best b&b in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stiv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews