We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #70 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect City Break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We couldn't fault our stay at the Blue Sheep. From the moment we arrived we experienced fantastic service and a warm welcome. Despite being only a ten minute walk from the station the neighborhood was quiet, lined with beautiful flowers and trees and felt very authentically Dutch. We couldn't believe we were on such a picturesque street. Breakfast was a real highlight- delicious food cooked in front of you (especially good were the little pancakes), nothing was too much, espresso, fresh orange juice, waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, Danish pastries. We ate around the communal table chatting to other travelers and exchanging tips for days exploring. The owners provide a warm and welcoming service- you feel like guests in their home. They were only too happy to recommend and book restaurants and attractions. With their help we really felt like we saw the real Amsterdam- away from tourist traps etc. The room was cosy and romantic with soft comfy beds which all added up for a great nights sleep.

We cannot recommend this B&B enough, Thank you for an amazing stay- we will be back!

Matt and Steph H

Room Tip: The Orange Room had its own bathroom. No outside windows but this was no problem- nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattH186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    77
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
166
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very nice place to stay with your family. We stayed in four in a large room with bathroom and a complete kitchen. We could have cooked there, but there are many options for a meal in a walking distance. Breakfast at the Blue sheep is delicious, you order and eggs, juice and espressos pump in front of you. Very nice Italian Landlady , nice talk and very good Amsterdam tips.

Room Tip: Haven't seem other rooms, only my large familiy room for 4 people Nice and quiet neighborhood. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drilonghin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my first victim to Amsterdam and I must confess I was a little unsure what to expect. I was however, immediately put at ease with the amazing hospitality and friendliness of all the staff at The Blue Sheep. From the moment we arrived, everyone we met was chatty, friendly and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the triple suit which was clean, well equipped with a kitchen and an amazing wet room with a fantastic shower! We also enjoyed fabulous views over the rooftops from the huge windows. The Blue Sheep is in a charming and quiet part of the city, but everywhere you could ever want to see or experience is only a short walk away. We chose the room as we were a party of three, a couple and a friend from the USA. The room worked well as the sleeping arrangements iin our room consisted of a king size bed in one room with a good quality single size 'put-up' bed in the main living area. All beds were of good quality and all of us slept well. I'd have no qualms whatsoever in recommending this hotel to all but the most laddish of stag do parties. There's plenty of hotels for them over in the red light district. Ha!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Blue Sheep is the perfect retreat for laid back city-break fans.

First off, the location is great - right in the centre, but in a really sweet road that is pedestrianised, so really, really quiet.

If you're arriving by train, it's within walking distance of the station, and is really easy to find using the 'Singel' canal as guidance.

We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes from the lovely Novella, proprietor who is such a lovely warm person and will make you feel completely at home as soon as you arrive.

Next up: our room, which was at the top of two flights of narrow Dutch 16/17th century style stairs... (all of the house, I must mention has been beautifully restored and decorated to a gorgeous standard). The room had everything we could ever need and more, from the comfortable bed, to the dvd player for the night it rained, and even little chocolate brownie squares left on our saucers one evening.

Breakfast was really something to look forward every morning, with a varied range of local (and Italian) treats to devour on the huge country style table along with the other guests. We had such a great time talking to the other diners, one morning we ended up chatting for 2 hours!

If you're looking for a relaxed, easy going stay in the heart of Amsterdam, I can't recommend the Blue Sheep more, lovely place, fantastic food and even better service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucybOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, incredible, amazing! We couldn't have anticipated such a stay. This is such a hard review to write because nothing I say can justify how we felt during our stay. The breakfast each morning was so yummy - Novella takes such pride in what she does and you can see it in every part of "The Blue Sheep" . The apartment we stayed in was so picturesque - It is so refreshing to come across somewhere like this. Make it your business to stay here if you are visiting Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We enjoyed a 5 day stay with Novella and her family recently, and from our arrival we were greeted warmly and made to feel very at home. Novella, Jan and Eddie took care of us very well offering great local advice on places to visit, the best restaurants in the area, markets being held etc.

We have detailed our experience below for fellow travellers wanting a more in depth review.

The location was fantastic. Less than 5 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal (the main train station) it is a perfect base from which to enjoy the canals of Amsterdam. From The Blue Sheep it is an easy, enchanting wander to the nine streets retail district, the Noordermarkt flea markets (Sat & Mon), the Jordaan and Dam square (very touristy area). Trams can easily be caught to other areas of Amsterdam from Centraal.

The BnB accommodation is in a beautifully restored 1600s typical canal house. While not directly overlooking the canals it is in a cute little foot-traffic only street between two canals which makes it very peaceful and quiet. Novella and Jan have restored and furnished the house beautifully and it reflects their lovely sense of style. We appreciated the love and care that has been put into the interior design.

We stayed in both the Orange room and the spacious Blue room. Both had comfy beds and gave us a restful sleep. The Orange room on the ground floor has no outside window, but this meant a fantastic sleep in! It also has its own spacious, modern bathroom. The large, airy and bright Blue room is one flight of stairs up, and guests of this room share a bathroom on the ground floor with the guests in the Green room. This bathroom is also modern and beautifully renovated with a spacious shower - a rarity for European accommodation.

Breakfast at 9am was fresh, lovely and offered a great variety. As an extra to cereal, yoghurt, eggs, bread, cheese and salami, each day there was something a little different offered... waffles, croissants, pancakes, home made apple cakes. Novella and Eddie made sure we were happy and satisfied!

If you are after 7am breakfast, 24 hour service and a characterless room this is not the accommodation you are looking for.

We appreciated how hospitable Novella and her family were in welcoming us into their home, and were always quick to smile end engage us conversation. Privacy and space is given to guests and the same is requested for the hosts.

We would dearly love to stay at The Blue Sheep again when next in Amsterdam. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Orange room has an ensuite, no outside window (which makes it perfect for a sleep-in), and is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived to a very warm reception from a lovely family and our stay continued in the same way. Eddie and Novella could not help enough, providing great advice on where to go and making the most amazing breakfast each morning! We stayed in the green room on the top floor which was lovely, extremely comfortable and just what we wanted. Definitely intend to stay here on future visits to Amsterdam, could not have been better. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaJD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#157 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#26 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#44 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing