We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #96 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my first victim to Amsterdam and I must confess I was a little unsure what to expect. I was however, immediately put at ease with the amazing hospitality and friendliness of all the staff at The Blue Sheep. From the moment we arrived, everyone we met was chatty, friendly and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the triple suit which was clean, well equipped with a kitchen and an amazing wet room with a fantastic shower! We also enjoyed fabulous views over the rooftops from the huge windows. The Blue Sheep is in a charming and quiet part of the city, but everywhere you could ever want to see or experience is only a short walk away. We chose the room as we were a party of three, a couple and a friend from the USA. The room worked well as the sleeping arrangements iin our room consisted of a king size bed in one room with a good quality single size 'put-up' bed in the main living area. All beds were of good quality and all of us slept well. I'd have no qualms whatsoever in recommending this hotel to all but the most laddish of stag do parties. There's plenty of hotels for them over in the red light district. Ha!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 393 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Blue Sheep is the perfect retreat for laid back city-break fans.

First off, the location is great - right in the centre, but in a really sweet road that is pedestrianised, so really, really quiet.

If you're arriving by train, it's within walking distance of the station, and is really easy to find using the 'Singel' canal as guidance.

We were greeted with the warmest of welcomes from the lovely Novella, proprietor who is such a lovely warm person and will make you feel completely at home as soon as you arrive.

Next up: our room, which was at the top of two flights of narrow Dutch 16/17th century style stairs... (all of the house, I must mention has been beautifully restored and decorated to a gorgeous standard). The room had everything we could ever need and more, from the comfortable bed, to the dvd player for the night it rained, and even little chocolate brownie squares left on our saucers one evening.

Breakfast was really something to look forward every morning, with a varied range of local (and Italian) treats to devour on the huge country style table along with the other guests. We had such a great time talking to the other diners, one morning we ended up chatting for 2 hours!

If you're looking for a relaxed, easy going stay in the heart of Amsterdam, I can't recommend the Blue Sheep more, lovely place, fantastic food and even better service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucybOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful, incredible, amazing! We couldn't have anticipated such a stay. This is such a hard review to write because nothing I say can justify how we felt during our stay. The breakfast each morning was so yummy - Novella takes such pride in what she does and you can see it in every part of "The Blue Sheep" . The apartment we stayed in was so picturesque - It is so refreshing to come across somewhere like this. Make it your business to stay here if you are visiting Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We enjoyed a 5 day stay with Novella and her family recently, and from our arrival we were greeted warmly and made to feel very at home. Novella, Jan and Eddie took care of us very well offering great local advice on places to visit, the best restaurants in the area, markets being held etc.

We have detailed our experience below for fellow travellers wanting a more in depth review.

The location was fantastic. Less than 5 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal (the main train station) it is a perfect base from which to enjoy the canals of Amsterdam. From The Blue Sheep it is an easy, enchanting wander to the nine streets retail district, the Noordermarkt flea markets (Sat & Mon), the Jordaan and Dam square (very touristy area). Trams can easily be caught to other areas of Amsterdam from Centraal.

The BnB accommodation is in a beautifully restored 1600s typical canal house. While not directly overlooking the canals it is in a cute little foot-traffic only street between two canals which makes it very peaceful and quiet. Novella and Jan have restored and furnished the house beautifully and it reflects their lovely sense of style. We appreciated the love and care that has been put into the interior design.

We stayed in both the Orange room and the spacious Blue room. Both had comfy beds and gave us a restful sleep. The Orange room on the ground floor has no outside window, but this meant a fantastic sleep in! It also has its own spacious, modern bathroom. The large, airy and bright Blue room is one flight of stairs up, and guests of this room share a bathroom on the ground floor with the guests in the Green room. This bathroom is also modern and beautifully renovated with a spacious shower - a rarity for European accommodation.

Breakfast at 9am was fresh, lovely and offered a great variety. As an extra to cereal, yoghurt, eggs, bread, cheese and salami, each day there was something a little different offered... waffles, croissants, pancakes, home made apple cakes. Novella and Eddie made sure we were happy and satisfied!

If you are after 7am breakfast, 24 hour service and a characterless room this is not the accommodation you are looking for.

We appreciated how hospitable Novella and her family were in welcoming us into their home, and were always quick to smile end engage us conversation. Privacy and space is given to guests and the same is requested for the hosts.

We would dearly love to stay at The Blue Sheep again when next in Amsterdam. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Orange room has an ensuite, no outside window (which makes it perfect for a sleep-in), and is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived to a very warm reception from a lovely family and our stay continued in the same way. Eddie and Novella could not help enough, providing great advice on where to go and making the most amazing breakfast each morning! We stayed in the green room on the top floor which was lovely, extremely comfortable and just what we wanted. Definitely intend to stay here on future visits to Amsterdam, could not have been better. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaJD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very enjoyable stay, and something a bit different from the mundane.

We originally booked to stay in the green room but were upgraded to the blue room upon arrival, they seemed similar on the website but the blue room is closer to the downstairs shower.

The rooms were very peaceful, with tea and a nice wood floor, the bed was very comfortable. The furnishing was rustic and had character. Some people may have found it a tad chilly (as it was below freezing outside!) but it was absolutely perfect for us.

The bathroom was very clean and the showerhead emulated a rain shower and was sufficiently powerful and hot.

The biggest positives were undoubtedly the hosts, Jan and Novella were professional and friendly which can be a difficult balance to strike, giving the perfect balance of privacy and conversation. Eddie took exceptional care of us on the first and second mornings of our trip and cooked us a nice breakfast while making us laugh with his stories. Novella took care of us on our last day and gave us some home made cake!

They have two lovely dogs which as a dog loving couple was an unexpected bonus

The only downside to the stay was the Wifi signal not being all that great in our room, but this was no problem for us as we didn't need it. It may be a little bit too personal if you are a couple who would prefer an anonymous hotel but again, this was an added bonus for us as it was nice to have conversation.

Thanks for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiersA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this smoothly. Arrived and were shown the self-contained flatlet which was as expected - clean and cosy. Very central location. First night interrupted by revelling visitors staying above us, not so bad as they left the next day and the rest of the week was peaceful.

Disappointments were: wifi connection pretty poor - you have to stand in a corner to get the signal from the main B&B property down the street. Better to not have advertised it with wifi as it just disappointed. Also the mice issue - we bought some bread, sealed in a plastic bag, and by morn it had been nibbled through (had we been informed of the mouse problem we'd have put it in the fridge). WHen I updated the owners the reaction was hysterical more than apologetic which irritated. Each night after we were woken by the pitter-patter of tiny rodent feet (though we left no snacks out after the first night). No real apology or reduction offered for the mouse problem. So the place has great potential but we didn't sleep well for reasons mentioned.

I would probably recommend the B&B itself (which looked good) but not this accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest your booking was at the beginning of January.
Since then we have strengthened the wi fi and we never again' had problems with mice
I'm sorry for my reaction Hysterical, since in any case the problem was not due to carelessness or dirt, but a real problem that all apartments and restaurants and hotels have in Amsterdam.
We have a special contract with Rentokil that specializes in these problems it has solved the problems.
We had no more problems with mice. I Hope that is clear for my future Guest !!!
sincerely

`Novella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#133 of 374 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,245 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $70 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing