We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A real Amsterdam experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #72 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A real Amsterdam experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Everyone has their own preference when choosing a place to stay. I prefer the personal B&B touch to being just one of the crowd in a big hotel. This for me was the ultimate b&b experience. Will & Novella went to great lengths to ensure I felt part of the family during my stay. It really feels like a home from home, and they make every effort to accommodate all requests. It is not so common nowadays to have rooms that don't have en-suite facilities, but this is made clear on their website, and as there is only one other guest room did not present a problem - especially with such a great shower!

A lot of effort has gone into giving the guest rooms a homely feel, and it adds to the experience staying in a house with such history, but which has been updated to include modern conveniences without detracting from the original feel.

I would recommend the Blue Sheep to anyone looking for B&B accommodation in Amsterdam. The central location cannot be bettered, yet it is on a traffic- free street which is so quiet and peaceful. I did not think that this would be possible for a place in the middle of such a vibrant city.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank stefch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    77
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
166
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights. After a trip that took way to long, we were welcomed by Jan Willem with a glass of wine. Although clean and comfortable it wasn't the best room we ever stayed in but this was more than made up for by the owners who turned their house into ours with their hospitality. Best location you can think of. Best breakfast too for that matter. Thanks to Edgar. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco4loco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Jan and Novella are very friendly and they helped a lot during my stay in Amsterdam. The breakfast they provided outside was also very good and we enjoyed the food very much. Blue sheep's location is very close to the central station and a lot of tourist resort. I changed my hotel booking from Ibis Amsterdam to Blue sheep since I want to have the experience to stay in the Amsterdam's old building and Blue sheep did provide me this experience. Great!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor's NY suit is very modern, fashion design with many windows which will give you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alala531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Amsterdam for 4 days after a cruise in May 2012. We found this beautiful property by the canals, centrally located. Walked everywhere. Jan and Novella (Yes, we were on first name basis immediately) made us feel at home. Whatever info we needed they were there. My wife has told me that when we come back to Amsterdam this will be the place for us.
Highly recommended. One caveat, and their site mentions it. This is probably a two century old building, and the stairs are tight. Just so you know. We did not have any problems.

Santiago & Margie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

close to the center, beautiful and peaceful B&B to stay, i'v been here with my housemates almost 1 year ago, it's really hard to find a good place CLEAN!! and close to the center in amsterdam. usually the hostel and hotels 1/2and even 3 stars are really dirty and "unfriendly" due the huge number o of people visiting the capital, so if you wanna enjoy the city but at the same time don't be stock with the mass i suggest you this. the B&B have rooms and also apartment for 4/6 people, the manager is friendly and helpfully!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised when I found the Blue Sheep after getting bumped off a flight and needing to stay an extra night in AMS. Jan and Novella are great hosts, the 'hotel' has a great family B&B feel and the bed was super comfortable (blue room). Also, the shower was the best I've ever had at a European hotel. My only disappointment was that I had to leave before breakfast to catch my flight the next day. Highly recommend the Blue Sheep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank percasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The owners of the b&b are incredibly friendly, the rooms are decorated beautifully and everything is very clean. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#182 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#26 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#47 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing