We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stairs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #70 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the stairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was a great place to stay - and yes believe what everyone says about the stairs - really more like a ladder. But our room was clean and the lovely owners are very helpful. We were a 10 min. walk from Central Station, the Ann Frank House & the red light district. Great places to eat close by again an awesome location! It should be noted this neighborhood has been delcared a world heritage site so it is very much old Amsterdam. We stayed in the room with one king bed & a pull out bed. It was cozy but if you spend a lot of time in your room shame on you - you are in Amsterdam for God's sake - get out & explore! Great shower, small kitchenette. If you wnat to pat double go stay at a regular hotel, if you want to expereince Amsterdam stay here!

Room Tip: Be open to the expereince!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caseycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    77
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
166
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you're after a very traditional and local experience, then this place is fantastic to use as a base to explore central Amsterdam, and I would highly recommend it. The owners were very lovely people, very friendly and looked after us exceptionally well. Booking was also a pleasure, with any questions answered promptly and politely. It's only a 3 to 10 minute walk from the station (time difference depending whether you know the route or not), and is convenient to all the main attractions. There were four of us, and we stayed in two suites, which were at the top of the building. My mother thought she might have trouble with the stairs, but she coped pretty well, especially if not rushed, and the owners carried our bags up and down. The property is 17th Century, so there are bound to be some defects for a building of that age, however, our rooms were comfortable and spacious, and just for the want of a base it was perfect. If you're not after this type of accommodation, then simply go to a plush hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite N.Y., which was on the top floor and had good roof top views and lots of natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This room was a great experience to say the least- certainly when coming from spacious Australia!! The stairway was so narrow and steep- if u are overweight or cannot climb stairs THIS Place is NOT for
You! We booked for quadruple, had 1 bedroom and 1 fold out lounge - very squishy! Close enough to everything! The owners/caretakers were lovely, never seen them though. But like I said if its just a bed u want then this is it! Partly self contained....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Proprietario at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest
We always accept constructive criticism of our guests. But it 's good to specify some points for guests who want to stay here at Blue Sheep in the future....
The center of Amsterdam is Unesco `HEritage the houses of the 700 century features are long and narrow
The room that you have booked is a room with canal view, private bathroom with shower and bathtub.
The stairs are narrow ... but everybody nose it!!!
Amsterdam is one of the most expensive city in Europe. You've paid 119 euros per night for 4 people.( 30 euro each one)
I'm sorry but with this price in Amsterdam you will find a hostel with shared bathroom with 4 other rooms.
Kind regards
Novella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Vacationers beware!
We made several reservation requests via the Blue Sheep's online reservation form and none were confirmed or responded to. Neither were our emails. And when we finally got someone on the phone, they said they would call us back later that day, but never did. Weeks later, we called and, this time, were told that they "get a lot of email and don't read all of it". Wow! They asked that we make another reservation request, which we did, but the next day we were told they were booked for the nights we requested.
Absolutely awful, inconsiderate, rude, and flaky service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank triggleto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest , sometimes can happen that i miss some emails...unfortunately we don't have any customer service
i'm the only one how respond to all the reservation and requests , and i try to do my best
I'm mother , wife, woman and i try to respond to all my clients ( we don't use automatic emails)as soon as possible .
We are B&B not one Hotel, we are a simple family , with a small business ..i did email you after 3 days ...but as i can see was not in TIME.
I will learned from you....
Take care
Novella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, escaping from London for a weekend. Novella, the house-lady is nice and friendly, the house is cosy, furnished with lots of european taste, the breakfast is prepared on the moment, so rich of all sorts of food. The bathroom is shared by two rooms, with a massive shower. It's located in the beautiful Jordaan area, we loved to get lost in the romantic maze of lanes and canals at nights. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleandVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tönisvorst, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Cosy nice place in the middle of Amsterdam. Easy to find from Central Station.
Room is nice and recently renovated. Great shower :-)
and great food. All you need to get started for exploring a nice city....

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have just returned from one of the best stays in Amsterdam! I traveled with my boyfriend and his parents, I had booked the accommodation from reviews solely on tripadvisor. The apartment was only a short walk from central station, tucked away down a quaint street where no cars are allowed, so that was a bonus! On arrival we were warmly welcomed with tea and coffee, a few guidelines on where to go and suggestions for nice restaurants. Eddie kindly helped us with our luggage to the apartment which was literally a few doors down, even though I seen pictures and warnings of how steep the staircase was, it was quite hard to manage them the first time, however we got used to it very quickly! The apartment had everything we needed, great shower, comfy beds, and lovely sheets, full of dutch charm! Very central to everything and easy to navigate around the city. On our last day we met Novella, the owner, she was lovely and said we could use the apartment for the rest of the day because nobody else was checking in.....usually they want you out as fast a possible to clean it! So we were able to leave our bags in the room and have another look about the city! Excellent accommodation and Novella could not do enough for us, really lovely! Definitely recommend this accommodation, we had a ball!

Room Tip: There is a knack for opening the door....ask owner to show you, preferably not 12 at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leontiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#180 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#26 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#44 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing