We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As cosy as you can imagine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #71 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“As cosy as you can imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I loved taking my time to drink a nice cup of coffee as I was checked-in. As soon as I walked into the green bedroom, I knew that it would be one of the cosiest and homely accomodation ever. The B&B concept is wonderful if you are an Amsterdam visitor wanting to make the most of your time in the city and coming back in the evening to a real home in one of the best areas in Amsterdam (Jordan) at a very reasonsable rate. The owners Jan and Novella are perfect and highly interesting hosts who help a lot in giving wise advise on what to do and see. Jan's photographs contribute to creating a highly special atmosphere. Breakfast, in addition to being delicious and colourful is a nice and unsual experience, too: You share a long table with other guests, which is a good opportunity to talk and to share useful tips. If you want an upgrade and a romantic weekend, Jan and Novella also rent out a penthouse round the corner with wonderful views. I will definitively come back for more of the best.

Room Tip: A worthwhile experience, indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasaMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    77
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
166
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Sheep immensely. Jan was interesting to talk to and gave us many tips on what to see and do in Amsterdam. Novella was also helpful and was a gracious host, the breakfasts were delicious, great french press coffee. It felt great to stay in such a warm and inviting home, the location was great, within walking distance to plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfree_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Unfortunately, we did not have a good experience with this accommodation. Despite the fact we booked one month prior to our arrival, they were not expecting us. We were given a room, not the one we booked, but it was alright, and were told we could not stay at the Blue Sheep the last night, but they would find us an accommodation of the same quality.

Ohh my God! The accommodation was in the Red District area, above the prostitute's window, that smelled of cigarettes and dirtiness. We were put in Catch 22 position, as it was mid day, raining and angry so we accepted. The owner of this accommodation understood the situation and charged us 40% more of the usual price. During the night we were so uncomfortable as there was such a noise coming from the road and constant knocking on our door....
We are/were very angry at the owner of the Blue Sheep for assuming that this accommodation was alright for her customers.

In regards to the Blue Sheep - good location, cozy breakfast although you are put at the same table with the rest of guests and if you are not morning person it may be a bit too much as others want to make a conversation and talk throughout the breakfast.

We found the bed really uncomfortable - it was not a double bed but made of two mattresses and this created a gap in between which we tried to fill in with bath towels.

This was my second trip to Amsterdam and I feel you can find a better accommodation for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRAZYHORSE694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed for a short three day holiday by myself and wish I could have made this my permanent residence! The green room was peaceful and I actually enjoyed the steep climb to the top. Fortunately I only had a small backpack to lug up there, and thought the stairs gave it nice character. Novella and Jan were great at giving suggestions of the area and pleasant to chat with. The neighborhood had some great restaurants and quaint bars for those avoiding the crowds, but it was also such a short walk to the hustle and bustle when in the mood for it. My only complaint was that the room was a little cold but was quickly remedied with a space heater. I am looking forward to a visit back some day!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

What can I say except: Awesome!! The only bad thing is that it was a little hard to find, but the painted blue sheep above the door is a pretty good indicator.
The owners (Novella and Jahn) are lovely people who have created an amazingly homely vibe and are extremely welcoming. The room was spacious, the showers were fantastic, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with lots of local knowledge and their dogs are amazingly cute and attention-loving.
The area is slightly removed from the red light district, but within easy walking distance and much quieter than other areas of Amsterdam.
The fact that the breakfast table is communal meant that we found it easier to talk and connect with our fellow travelers, whether they were young or old, and the homeliness of the place contributes to that.
Well done guys, you've created a great B&B, it was a joy staying with you.

Room Tip: If you want natural sunlight, ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamRose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Blue Sheep for three nights in late September. We arrived from the states very early in the morning and were thankfully able to leave our bags at the B&B for the few hours before we were able to check-in. Jan & Novella were gracious and very eager to please. Their daughter is also adorable and quiet as a mouse. The young man who handles breakfast was incredibly friendly and helpful. Also, the B&B is close to all of the major sites (short walk to the train station!), and with a bike rental, you can easily and quickly get around the city.

As stated in almost every review and clearly on the website, there are only a few rooms in the house, and you are REALLY sharing someone's home. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was clean and large. Having to share the bathroom down one flight of stairs with the Green Room was totally fine and never an issue. However, the slight issue we did have was with the noise; the bed was a little creaky and the walls are rather thin. Just understand that this place is certainly an "early to bed, early to rise" type of B&B, and that it is not necessarily for a light sleeper.

Also, while this had absolutely nothing to do with the B&B, do not lock your bikes on the gates at the end of the street! We unknowingly did this and one of the neighbors angrily let the air out of all four of our tires and dragged our bikes (that were securely locked!) to the end of the gate, effectively throwing the handlebars out of whack. Thankfully Yellow Bike just laughed and gave us new bikes chalking up the damage to "Mac Bike Revenge," which is the other tourist bike rental company. Just double check with Jan about where to best lock your bikes!

All-in-all, we'd definitely come back but possibly stay in the Orange Room for a bit more privacy. Definitely worth the money!!

Room Tip: The Green Room is two windy and narrow flights of stairs down to the bathroom, so if you have a habi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFS10017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. It was a great location - an easy walk from Centraal station and close enough to walk (or take trams in the case of some rainy weather) to all the attractions. It is on a very quiet pedestrian-only street. We did not meet the owners, but the young male manager we dealt with was exceedingly gracious, warm, kind, and helpful. We had the upstairs room and had to go downstairs to a shared bathroom, but this worked out fine and we never had to wait. Yes, the stairs were steep as promised, but it was okay, even with our baby and all the baby gear. We had asked for a crib in the room and didn't get one, but he was fine sleeping between us, so we didn't push the issue. The two little Jack Russel dogs were very sweet, and my son adored them. The breakfast the first day was amazing and plentiful, with waffles and eggs made to order, among other things. For some reason the second day we only got bread and fruit, the manager was making eggs and hot things for other guests and I think he just didn't realize that he never offered them to us - it was a bit hectic with folks in and out of the room at that particular time. He was so kind and working so hard, that we didn't mention it and just made do with the other items. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyDeViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#26 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#5 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#46 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing