We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 320 4132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: French, International, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a great breakfast in this small and very friendly restaurant. French toast was very delicious. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ivan993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scrambled Eggs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hands down the best scrambled eggs I've ever had. Nice ambiance, friendly patrons, very attentive. Gratine is a very cosy place, run by people who appreciate good food with quality ingredients.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mendel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made sure to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our first visit to Gartine was a year ago and I couldn't wait to return. So with great anticipation I had a late lunch and fell in love all over again. My meal was heavenly. The service was warm and friendly. And the setting is magical. I can't wait to return again next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We heard many great things about Gartine, so we decided to check it out when we visited Amsterdam. The time we had here was amazing, and I absolutely loved the welcoming atmosphere. The decorations are very creative and tasteful, and the service is always on point. I recommend the breakfast food here, especially the scrambled eggs and the French toast. I also had an amazing cake, and the coffee is delicious. We all loved this cute little restaurant, and we definitely recommend it. Make sure you make a reservation beforehand though because it`s not very big, and many people come here to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracycori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy wee cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We read about this place in our guidebook & were very glad we went. Our timing was fortunate - a couple of people who came in after us were turned away. It looked like you can book ahead, so worth doing if you get the opportunity. The food was delicious & lived up to the descriptions on the menu. The menu offered a fair choice - impressive for such a little kitchen at the back. I read this place mainly uses ingredients that the team grow themselves. Given the food's provenance & the cafe's location it really is great value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HMA502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing