We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Start your day right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Ranked #7 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Start your day right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a very popular place for breakfast but it's also very small so make sure you get there early or book a table. We had scrambled eggs and french toast. So, so good! They also have a great selection of tea and cake for dessert. This lovely little place is run by a couple who were very pleasant. I'd love to try their lunch next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank strpyllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    156
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and good food upon arriving in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

So grateful to have found Gartine upon our arrival in Amsterdam. Right off of Dam Square, this little place is a haven of loveliness in the midst of commercialism. Delicious coffee, good eggs and yummy french toast. We were lucky to be seated as many people were turned away, so if you can, make a reservation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank planningobsessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent little breakfast/brunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely service, cozy atmosphere, great location and very good food. Not sumptuous, luxurious, or fantastic; just really good! We arrived early for Sunday breakfast and were the only ones admitted without reservations - so calling ahead is probably a good idea!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Was walking around at lunch time and found this small place that was full. Managed to get a table even without reservation. Staff were very nice and charming. The food however was ok. I mean, it has basically salads and sandwiches for lunch, so although perfectly fine, I must say that it was not memorable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ckatsuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not miss this lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Several times we went around, but it was always crowded. Fortunately, the cafe is in very good location, a bit hidden, but not a problem to stop at any other city walk. Very cozy atmosphere, excellent coffee as well as tea, delicious desserts and surprise at the end, actually, in the beginning :)
Service quality sometimes varies, but I do recommend it as a great place for breakfast or just for an afternoon cup, I believe that you will not regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing