We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We fell in love....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Ranked #8 of 3,684 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We fell in love....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a very special place. We fell in love when we stepped through the door. By some sort of magic we were escorted to a table without a reservation, to find it was the last open table for hours. Then when I took a bite of the toast with Gouda and rhubarb, tears came to my eyes. Seriously, it was that delicious. The scrambled eggs were also divine. On top of it all the people were lovely. We will post pictures later!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    156
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our favorite brunch in Amsterdam, even better than Greenwoods (which is also quite good). The French toast is really delish as are the scrambled eggs - great texture and seasoning on the eggs.
It's easy to miss as its tucked into a little alleyway.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Having breakfast at Gartine...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Finally we found a decent place to have breakfast in Amsterdam! And to be right, an excellent place. It is difficult to find a good spot for lunch or breakfast if you want more than a sandwich cheese, and do not feel like spending that much for breakfast in a five star hotel. Now, you are offered a solution: Gartine!
It is tiny and cosy, only 22 seats so making a reservation is necessary. Just leave a voicemail and they will call you back the next day. If you do not like disappointments, I recommend to make a reservation. The food is fresh, delicious and very tasteful. They grow a lot of the vegetables themselves and make their own marmelades. If you go for breakfast, you can choose betweenbetween a small or large breakfast depending on your appetite. But not to miss are the dutch wentelteefjes! I have never tasted it that delicious, they are my favourites. The owners are very kind and attentive. And the atmosphere is very relaxed. The interior is also very tasteful with some antiques, and the chandelier is an eye cather. I can highly recommend this place, and will return at the first opportunity.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosita_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to Gartine twice during my short stay in Amsterdam. First, for a quick afternoon tea (just tea and a slice of cake), and it was very good. However, it was the breakfast I had the following day that blew me away.
It was a huge, perfect breakfast, complete with fresh sourdough, homemade jams, sweet orange juice, scrambled eggs, french toast and I can't even remember everything! It was delicious, everything very well cooked and fresh.
The place is very small and cosy, everything is served with cute old fashioned plates and silverware and the people working there (I assume they are the owners) were really nice and welcoming.
It's definitely worth a visit - and for brakfast, make a reservation!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Super full afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went twice to Gartine during our one week stay in Amsterdam - first time for lunch and second time for afternoon tea.

Have to say the afternoon tea is much more worth the spend because basically you almost taste everything they have through the afternoon tea. A little bit disappointed with the tea although they come with a very nice tea pot they are made using tea bags rather than real tea leaves. The ingredients are all very fresh and I assume the vegetables are grown in their own garden.

We tried the BIG afternoon tea come with a soup, a pot of tea, a round of sandwiches and quiche and a round of sweets (cakes and cup cakes). I have to say they all taste very good but just a little bit too much to finish. Saw other people also not able to finish all of them in the end.

The restaurant is a little bit small and crowded. Would be lovely if we can taste the same food in an open garden/outdoor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harmomimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing