We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Anniversary Meal - Thank You for Looking After Us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Ranked #7 of 3,425 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Anniversary Meal - Thank You for Looking After Us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am late submitting this review - sorry. My wife and I visted Amsterdam last November whilst celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. I booked Zazas after reading a review on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The proprietor (sorry I do not know her name) really looked after us. They set up a special table for the two of us with lovely touches such as hearts attached to our wine glasses and also gave us a photograph to remember the occasion. The food, service and standard of accommodation was very good throughout. Thank you for a lovely and memorable evening. Kev.

PS. Amsterdam is a fab city and the people are so nice and friendly, we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    217
    48
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Dinner @ Zazas Amsterdam on 14Apr2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

had a good dinner at zazas on my second night in amsterdam on 14.4.2014. like beulings, we planned & booked the restaurant before the trip.

could not recall the amuse bouche but it was good tasting.

the focaccia was good, the usual.

we ordered 5 appetisers including the oysters & soup.

#1 the beef carpaccio was good, sweet & came with foie gras terrine.

#2 the smoked duck mille feuille was good too. smoked duck was good & the pastry too, overall a good dish. taste wise it was not as exciting as it looked. the duck & pastry were competent, good, not special.

#3 the ravioli was good. couldn’t remember what was in it, I imagine cheese? but this was better than the green pea risotto we had at the movies restaurant the next day.

#4 the carrot soup (we had 3 servings of 1/2 portion) had some cream at the bottom & was again very good, and also better than the one at the movies restaurant.

#5 the oysters were excellent, very creamy and sweet. we ordered a second helping of 3 oysters.

we ordered 2 mains to share.

#6 the cod was competent, but somehow the meat were firmer (& less oily??) than the texture i generally liked, as in my own nobu miso cod or teriyaki cod.

#7 the guinea fowl i guess was competent, just was not a dish that we particularly liked, and by comparison, the duck confit at the movies restaurant was much more enjoyable.

the service was very good – professional & friendly. there was 2 taiwanese ladies on our next table. 1 ordered a lamb but didn’t like it. she was requested to order a different main from the menu. the server took back the lamb & later explained politely & cheerfully that the chef tasted the lamb & it was fine however they would replace it with another main anyway. the lady said sorry when paying the bill & the server said they were sorry that she did not like it. all very nice & pleasant.

overall the dinner came to euro104 for 3pax including 2 coffees & a glass of wine, quite good price. it was not really much more expensive than the movies restaurant. the appetisers were great but the mains were not as enjoyable for us c/w the movies restaurant. i would come back again when in amsterdam.

see my detailed reviews & photos at http://chefquak.com/2014/04/30/very-good-dinner-zazas-amsterdam-on-14apr2014/

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chefquak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What does one seek on an evening dining out? Delicious food, lovingly and creatively prepared? Naturally. But what other characteristics factor in? For many, the more polished and formal the atmosphere, so much the better, as though the quality of the experience is directly correlated to the relative "importance" of the setting. For such diners, Zaza's may not hold that much appeal. It is, in every detail, the personal manifestation of its irrepressively charming owner, Susie Roche, which means that yes, there is considerable passion for the product served on the table, but any hint of pretension will be absent. From the moment one enters Zaza's, and is warmly greeted by Susie herself, one feels secure in the knowledge that laughter and fun are as much a part of the menu as the other scrumptious offerings. This is a surefire recipe for a great evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Windsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
618 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Must eat place in AMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Found this place via TA reviews and must say the restaurant and service are top-notch.

We made reservations online and ate late aroun 9:30-10 on saturday night, The restaurant is located in trendy area full of nightlife and bars.. . .but the food and service were amazing.

The owner Susie Roche welcomes you as you walk in and takes your order as well. .. and biy was the food amazing. My wife had Kataifi Gambas and I had the Lamb which was amazing! We would definitely highly recommend and make reservations in advance!

Come here to eat and then walk around and have a drink in the area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ledezmacjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb, illinois
Level Contributor
294 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Excellent and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We ate at Zaza's last year and returned in April of this year because we enjoyed the restaurant. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the number 16 or 24 tram stop on a side street with several other restaurants and bars. The restaurant is not big but the tables are not crowded together so you are not annoyed by other customers. Both the food and service were excellent. When we arrived at 7.45 (19.45) the restaurant was about half full. When we left at about 10.00 all the tables were taken. Each of the three of us were very satisfied with our starters, mains and desserts. The wine list, while not very extensive, should satisfy most people. The one brief negative was the shock I got when they put a very loud version of 'happy birthday' on the speaker system and brought out a dessert with a rather large sparkler on it. Cute,but a bit over the top. All in all an excellent experience and we will return when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing