We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous Darlings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Ranked #8 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous Darlings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The food, service and atmosphere was everything they claimed it would be on their website and did not disappoint! The staff were entertaining and welcoming, how they manage to miss each other as they rush up and down the restaurant is amazing to watch.

The food was amazing, well presented and portion sizes you would expect from a top class restaurant. We had three courses and were more than full by the end.

We sat at a table for two next to each other so could see the whole restaurant in front of us which was great as we got to see what everyone else was eating and it all looked good.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ian_a_leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    215
    45
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent but do not go if you are hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food we had was excellent but portions small scallop and prawn starters consisted of 2scallops and 2 prawns table next had 2 starters to share I.e. A choice of 1 prawn or 1 scallop at a cost of 11.50 euro a 50% increase would not break the bank !service and atmosphere could not be faulted and would recommend to anyone with small appetite

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nuttallManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Understated & a delight!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a fab fab meal at Zaza's. A restaurant frequented by locals not tourists. The staff were incredibly helpful. Menu was small - I am a fussy eater & was tempted by most of the dishes. Settled on fish for my main which was very moist, flavoursome & exactly per the menu description. Zaza's has an understated atmosphere & was a delight!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

we booked a table in advance because it was a saturday evening. location was easy to find, not so far from reijksmuseeum to walk to. place looks nice, modern design. staff welcomed us in a very friendly manner and we immediately felt welcome. food choice okay and quality of food excellent. wine list pretty small and therefore hard to make a choice. having said this, prices are fair.

Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service matches food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As it was mentioned earlier, the Dutch people I knew never heard of this place but found it nestled in a great neighborhood and the experience from the beginning which was a great staff to the end which was a fantastic dessert (Dark chocolate, Caramel and Macadamia tart). Definitely worth the $ which was very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing