We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great small restaurant with innovative cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Ranked #8 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great small restaurant with innovative cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We chose this from toptable online for a birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is in the popular de Pijp district, a short walk from the museum district where we stayed. The menu was short but creative, with interesting blends of ingredients. Venison done perfectly. The tables are quite close together and when the restaurant was full it was a little tricky for the staff to get around, but we could still have our own quiet conversation. Don't mention it's your birthday unless you want a loud blast of music!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alyson_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    215
    45
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“10/10 for effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

It was very quiet which reading other reviews seems like a bit of a rarity. We had the best of attentive service and im so pleased they dont over charge for the wine! I think thats always a good sign. The food is excelkent without being memorable. Id highly recomend it if for no other reason than the genuine interest and passion the owner showed throughout the night. Very good!

Helpful?
Thank Chilledinagay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Taste & style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Zaza’s is a wonderful restaurant. We dined here and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is very warm, the crowd quite decent and nice and add to the lively atmosphere of the restaurant. The food was as amazing as the restaurant’s décor. The desserts are amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Wow! Ate here last night, I cannot describe how fantastic the food was - from the starter, the amuse bouche, the main, the dessert, the wine - all heaven. And the service/ staff were all fantastic. What a hidden gem, almost don't want to tell people about it!
Cannot recommend Zaza's highly enough. Susie, thank you for a memorable night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing restaurant, a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Zaza's is definitely one of a kind and such an absolute gem. I went to there tonight to dine with a friend and everything was first class, from the warm cosy atmosphere, buzz and music to the fantastic owner Susie who is so warm and bubbly to the exquisite food which is so beautifully presented. We had a meal that was to die for and delicious wines. It's in a lovely little area where locals hang out so quite a good find. I cannot wait to come back to Amsterdam again for Zaza's if nothing else. Cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant, thank you Susie and team for a very memorable evening! Until next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niamh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing