We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely first class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Ranked #5 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went with friends to Amsterdam and had reserved a table at Zaza's based on reviews. We were not in any way disappointed. The food was excellent - prepared, cooked and presented beautifully in very nice surroundings. The restaurant was busy but that did not detract from the service we received, which included some very much appreciated personal attention from the owner.
We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    227
    49
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with good atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I decided to come here with reference to Trip advisor reviews.
Not much choice from the menu but the food is tasty and with good service. I liked the soup most but was quite disappointed to the dessert Strawberry Vanilla.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureLoverVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quaint atmosphere with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a very nice meal with a customer and the service and food were very good. I found the prices very reasonable and the staff was helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Amsterdam for a couple of nights on a city break with my girlfriend. Decided to reserve a table at zaza's due to trip advisor reviews and the look of the menu. We were not disappointed.

We really enjoyed our meal, the food was cooked amazingly, I had scallops to start, which were delicious. I then had the rib eye, cooked to perfection, and the fries were superb. My gf had the lamb as a main and thought it was tremendous, and the panacotta for dessert, she liked it so much she only reluctantly allowed me a small taste, it was really good.

I thought the service was also great. All in all a super dining experience and would go back again. Our meal as details above, with 2 glasses of prosecco, 2 glasses of rijoca, and a brandy come to €99, which I thought was reasonable. For a Tuesday it was busy, and appeared you would need to book in advance, there was also a large group at a table, seemed like a work group, and they were quite loud, it didn't bother us too much as added some atmosphere, however, the restaurant is quite small and if we were seated closer may have been annoying. Not the fault of zaza's though.

All in all, great, I recommend it highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wza1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice place that can improve even more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I been there one week ago, it was a monday and the restaurant was full, luckily i placed a reservation in advance. I tried other time to go and eat there but it was always fully booked and without any guest list (strange). The person with i spoken sounds a bit in rush.
They gave us a tasty amuse bouche and tasty bread, well done.
I had the Carpaccio as started and my fiancée got the soup. Both tasty but the presentation of the carpaccio was a bit messy and not easy to eat mixing all the ingredients. Then followed bymain course, lamb and fish, both well done. The ambient is really too small and noisy, and it was just a monday, when you want go to toilet be careful to the other tables cause it's really narrow. The girl that pour for me the wine dont' know how to do cause she lean the neck of the bottle to my glass edge. Small particular that makes a usual place in something outstanding. Zazas got the potential to separate itself from the rest of soulless Amsterdam restaurant, just a bit more of effort and more of customers care to be a nice reality of Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing