We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, cosy and modern - an excellent meal”
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Reserve with
Zaza's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,954 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $70
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious, cosy and modern - an excellent meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed. All the tables were reserved so we wouldn't have got in without a reservation and there were a few people turned away on the night so whilst not exactly on the well trodden tourist paths, it does get some passing trade (or not!). The restaurant is small but as a result can serve really excellent quality food. The staff were attentive and we enjoyed ourselves enormously. My husband rated it just about the best retaurant that we went to during our trip (we also visited Brasserie Vlaming and Greetje) although I preferred the slightly more traditional Dutch air of the other two. I really enjoyed my guinea fowl and the idea of an "in between" course is really good as it meant I could have the oysters which I didn't want as a whole starter. It meant we shared a pudding as we were so full. This isn't an inexpensive place to go for dinner, but it was definitely worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    247
    59
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We ate at Zaza's on our last night in Amsterdam. There was some kind of mix-up with our reservation, so we ended up waiting at the bar for about a half hour while they prepared our table. They were very apologetic about it, though, and it ended up being worth the wait. The food was fantastic! I had sweetbreads for my entree and it was fantastic. We were starving so we ordered apps and desserts also and they were all equally fantastic (see the pics). It was a while back so I don't remember what everything was but it was all delicious. Easily our best meal in Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carriefax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great Irish welcome in a strange city”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were greated with a great big hello and smile. Something we had not been too accustomed to while in Holland so far. The lady who greeted us actually turned out to be the owner, but you could tell this from the moment we had our coats taken from us.

The place was lovely and was booked off the strength of the Trip Advisors reviews. Clean and very, very friendly staff.

We were given an amuse-bouche before we even got the menu's to order, that was a nice touch. We then were given some beautiful bread and dips!

The dinner itself was elegant and very very tasty. Topped off with some lovely wine.

You could tell that everything was prepared with TLC, as each table was given the same attention as the next. Exceptional dedication to services.

The whole restaurant took part in a singalong of Happy Birthday too.

When we were leaving we had a great chat with the lady who owned the place and she is living 16 years in Amsterdam, but is originally from Co. Cork in Ireland; you'd notice it from the service. She directed many parties including our own to different spots for an after dinner drink or party, depending on your vice.

Cannot recommend it highly enough. Would go back in the morning.......Oh and the value was just insane (2 bottles of really good wine, 3 courses each - including steak and two gin and tonics for €140)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBDubIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Zaza's lives up to the great reviews.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We saved Zaza's for our special celebration on our 25th anniversary. We were seated by the window, and the staff gave us several speical touches to help us celebrate. The appetizers were Ginger Carrot Soup for me, and a beet salad for my wife. Both were delicious, and have slight variations on presentation and style. The amuse was a goat cheese and veal taster, and was also excellent. For inter-course selections, we had the sorbet, which is a very nice surprise in its offering and presentaion. We had srhimp and lamb (I think) for our mains, followed by dessert and coffees. The overall price was very reasonable, and the greate food and friendly service left us feeling like we had a dinner that helped make our anniversary special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joelovesliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went here based on Trip Advisor reviews; you would probably not stumble upon it otherwise. Reviews were accurate. A fairly smallish restaurant with a good atmosphere. Service was good and most importantly, the food was of a pretty high standard. It was tasty, well presented and was enough to tempt me back should I be in Amsterdam again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghGlaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing