We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mashua

Mashua
Ranked #466 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this Peruvian/fusion restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam. The portions are very hearty so unless you have a big appetite think about two starters rather than a starter and a main. I loved the spicy pumpkin soup and my husband was ecstatic about his tuna and sweet potato. His duck main course was outstanding; my second starter of beef was less exciting but still very good. Great cocktails and warm, friendly service from a charming Italian waitress. The bill, with a shared dessert and a glass of wine plus a cocktail, was €86 without service.

Helpful?
Thank Claretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    65
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So good I went twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Beautifully prepared food, very little for vegetarians but the pumpkin soup was an absolute delight.
The neighbours at the next table were enthusing about the burgers and salads. My friend who is an expert pudding eater was in raptures over the citron tart/lemon meringue.
The waiter was so lovely and attentive too.
Overall a little pricey but quality was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelaqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Peaks, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - service could be more attentive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is located nicely on Prinsengracht and has a nice interior/atmosphere.
The menu offers mainly fish dishes with some meat as well but is lacking vegetarian dishes. The dishes are quit unique and off the standards and tasty.
Only point of criticism is that considering that the place was half full the service was a little inattentive.
Price wise we paid 50€/p for starter, main, shared dessert and a glass of wine - not cheap but still in the range for Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank picknicker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Mashua is a restaurant where you can go with different groups of people. Having a night out with your friends, or even a dinner for work.
The food is excellent and we always enjoy the pisco sour cocktail. Service is very good and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Heard about it and gave it a try. Super tasty, well-presented fusion cuisine with a peruvian base. We had seafood and beef (lomo saltado) and both were very good. Service was good and even a little misunderstanding with one of our orders was swiftly corrected. Try the pisco sour!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelandfoodrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashua also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mashua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing