We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business Dinner”

Restaurant De Roode Leeuw
Ranked #337 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $73
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Please note that we are currently improving our restaurant. During this renovation, we will offer an alternative option for your breakfast nearby. We will re-open later this year with a brand new look, which will nonetheless reflect our rich history and our dedication to the high level of hospitality you are used to from us.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,531 reviews
838 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Good for Business Dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I have used this restaurant three times before since the atmosphere is a bit formal but the meals and drinks are not so expensive. I like the herring with pink colored source (red beet?) the best. The beef is also nice option in here.

Helpful?
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    213
    70
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice choice of authentic Dutch dishes”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed in the hotel and had dinner there on the first night. A birthday party was held there on that night for an elderly lady of ?90s years old. Ambience was fantastic. Good choice of authentic Dutch food and friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great mussels”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Having walked along the Winter Market and having had a mulled wine, or two....maybe it was three? Sorry but it was very strong LOL. We felt hungry and desided it was time for a bite. We remembered, from the night before, seeing a restaurant with guests eating one of our favourite food, mussels. Using my inbuilt GPS system we found the 'de roode leeuw' again.
A very inviting restaurant in the Hotel Amsterdam. Comfy surroundings and very attentive and friendly waiters. They ALL were very chatty and even the restaurant manager came over to have a chat to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. Totally unnecessary as the food and service are second to none.
We decided, for starters, to have salted herring and my partner, Caesar salad. Both beyond words. Seeing the size of the bowl of mussels we asked if that could be shared. It was NO problem. They were delicious, large and succulent. I have been brought up on mussels, as my parents were Belgian, but no way could one person eaten all of them alone.
Pricewise, the final bill was extremely reasonable for the quality of food and service. Having said that, I felt the prices all over this great city were more than fair.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norman1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
322 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great location for a lunch”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Enjoyed this nicely decorated and comfortable place for lunch. Outstanding pea soup highly recommended. Service is typically slow in the normal Eurpean manner (they consider it rude to rush), so relax and take your time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen727286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere in a traditional restaurant”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We enjoyed the red plush atmosphere of this restaurant on a cold evening in December. It is on the busy Damrak but once inside it was quiet and peaceful and we felt away from the crowds. We had the menu of the day which was very good with a reasonable choice. Staff were helpful and friendly and the price was good for the location, not as cheap as other meals we had but still only 75 Euros for three courses for two including half a litre of wine. We were not hurried and the staff asked us when we would like each course so we had the choice between a hurried meal or relaxing between courses. The food was also good and nicely presented with vegetables included with the main course. We would go there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant De Roode Leeuw also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Roode Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing