We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro haven ”
Review of Latei

Latei
Ranked #215 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
worthing
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Retro haven ”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A retro haven amongst the bustle of the Asian district. Very friendly and clearly had a genuine love of food! Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank E1881RClaurenc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    107
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A warm and cosy escape from the otherwise harsh and cold city of Amsterdam. Although I don't like Amsterdam very much in the summer, I do like this place any time of the year! It's a place you can read a good book while drinking the best hot choclate you've ever tasted, eat cheesecake with your friends and gossip or warm yourself on a plate of homemade soup in the winter. I love Latei!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noragha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“The best cheesecake in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Are you searching for a warm and welcoming environment? This is it! Yesterday we found "Latei" with its urban old school environment. Service, cake, coffee, vibe...10!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun and quirky with great food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I loved this cafe, the interior was absolutely amazing because everything inside you could buy, from the seat you sit on to the tables, plates and bowls you eat out of, I love everything 70s so for me i was in heaven. There is also the resident cat named Elvis who was quite shy but you could tell he was the one that ran the show. We had a curry courgette soup which was delicious and I also had a freshly squeezed apple, pear and ginger juice. Definitely a hidden gem. I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank on_high_heels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was great and cooked to a high standard. We had a med well steak and a medium steak and both were cooked perfectly and you could immediately tell which was which. We arrived 10pm on a Sunday evening and the bread was still fresh as though it was cooked on site.

Service was average and we had to remind them of the desert we ordered. In part they seemed more concerned with clearing up and to be fair it was near midnight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latei also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Latei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing