We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment in the best location in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Miauw Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miauw Suites
Ranked #108 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in the best location in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Miauw is one of the most beautiful holiday experiences we have ever had.
Every detail has been thought of in the rooms. We stayed in the White Suite and loved the design, the views and the location. Super comfortable king size bed bed, spacious gorgeous living room with gorgeous big windows and views of the Keizersgracht, and a full working kitchen with a table big enough for us to host a small, home cooked dinner party for 5 of our local friends on the last night. The White Suite was always impecaably clean, and also has great details like a Bang & Olufsen TV, and lovely Ren bath products. We stayed just before Chistmas and the room temperature was always perfect, heat easily and quickly adjusted.
There is an Albert Heijn (supermarket) literally 3 mins away, a great coffee bar just next door (Screaming Beans) and so many wonderful restaurants and bars to choose from. Analik is thoughtful enough to leave a few essentials in the kitchen like tea, sugar, olive oil etc so that you dont need to buy these things if, like us, you take full advantage of being able to cook your own meals in the gorgeous smeg kitchen!

Maybe I am biased or somehow understood this immeditately beacuse I am Dutch, and originally from Amsterdam and know the area well -but I honestly I don't know how anyone could have gone to their website and thought that they were getting a full service hotel experience, they make it pretty clear that you are getting a very exclusive apartment!
As far as other comments about showers being small and stairs being steep- you're in the Netherlands! Stay at home or in a big chain hotel if you don't want to experience or cant handle the quirks that make Amsterdam so special and quaint as a city (tall and not very wide houses!)

My husband and I will only stay here from now on when we come visit and honestly cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We only saw the White Suite, highly recommend it for incredible value for money and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beafoulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

To be honest, if you need to go to Amsterdam, try your best to stay here. The nine streets area is probably the most unique Dutch experience you will have anywhere in Amsterdam, minus the Wind Mill... It truely feels like a village.

Great restaurants, great bars, great markets, great atmosphere!

We stayed in the White Suite and Analik was exceptionally accommodating.

Loved the extra charm offered by the awesome view from the suite! We did not want to leave!

Room Tip: If you want room service and a buffet breakfast with a world of tourists, you may not want to stay h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnT_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Let’s get one thing straight – Miauw Suites is not a hotel – there is no concierge or room service and if you need a full service hotel, then don’t stay here. However, if you’re looking for a very central, stylish apartment as a base for a city break, then I’d thoroughly recommend it. The rooms are a little noisy as they overlook a canal street, but the views of the Amsterdam canals are stunning and the interiors very chic and minimalist. I especially liked the wet room bathrooms – small but practical. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The white suite is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I love Miauw because you know you are in Amsterdam every minute. The room design is unique and small but works. It's very clean and I prefer a Mac to a TV. The White Room has a fantastic view over the bridge and down the Keizersgracht. The Black Room has one wall of window instead of two but is a bit larger with a bigger bathroom and a real closet. Both are lovely as are the women who run the place. Don't expect someone around every minute, but who needs that. You can be in close touch with hotel management if you need to be via email or phone. Love the place, but then I do love Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Miauw Suites looked great on the internet but the reality is completely different. This is not actually a hotel as it has no facilities outside of the rooms whatsoever. Having lugged our bags up the steep stairs to the first floor (no elevator) we arrived in the White Room. The temperature was around 90 degrees inside (despite being 70 outside) and there is no air conditioning. We were on our honeymoon and wanted to experience a boutique hotel but this was appalling in every way. We checked out straight away and found alternative accommodation close by that was very good. Miauw Suites has declined to refund any of our costs for the 2 night stay. I understand that we arrived at 3pm on the first day and that it would be unlikely that the room could be sold again but feel that the second night should have been refunded.

Room Tip: Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The TRIPADVISOR reviews were so glowing that I chose Miauw Suites over many other possibilities. Supposedly my husband and I had been upgraded from a room to a suite, but the space didn't seem to be a suite by what I consider a suite. The bed was very comfortable; the room was clean; the young woman Maya who showed us to our room was very helpful and nice; the building was on a canal. But the room/suite was probably not worth the price we paid. Given that there is no lobby or concierge service, we walked a block to the Hotel Pulitzer and used their concierge services. They were very helpful in arranging a day tour to Rotterdam, Madurodam, Delft, a flower market, etc. They also got us taxis once or twice.

Several days after we returned home, I read an article in the New York Times about people getting paid $5 to write positive reviews about hotels or restaurants. I was sad to read that the authenticity of some of the TRIPADVISOR reviews might be compromised.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

I rarely write travel reviews but with our stay at Miauw, I just have to.

First off, it's not your typical hotel but that's the reason why we chose this. Secondly, location is fantastic. Third, the rooms are spotless, greatly designed and furnished and well-maintained. Like what others have said, dreamy and airy, bathe in white and subtle colors, with fresh flowers during our entire stay.

We stayed for 4 nights. Two nights at the White Room, 2 nights at the White Suite. The suite is like having your own apartment in AMS, complete with a functioning kitchen, dining and living area, and a serapate bedroom. The bathroom is decent and functional, can't really complain much about it.

Analik, the owner, is a great host!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaimosLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
No photo provided
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#33 of 227 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miauw Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miauw Suites

Property: Miauw Suites
Address: Hartenstraat 34, 1016 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miauw Suites Amsterdam is an evolving b&b boutique hotel, presented through two beautiful buildings in Amsterdam Centre. Conveniently situated in the "9 straatjes", a Soho-like area of 9 small streets housing quirky restaurants and shops. Directly between the charming Amsterdam canals. Quickly becoming the most wanted shopping district in Amsterdam. Miauw Suites has three suites located on the 2nd floor, 1st floor and the Souterrain. The Green Suite and the Souterrain Suite have kitchens and separate bedrooms. The Blue Suite is the most classical looking suite with an en-suite bathroom. For more info: Green Suite, Souterrain Suite, Blue Suite. In some cases we also have a standard room available: Black Room. To make a reservation: Please click here to fill in our contact form to make a reservation or request info. Miauw Green Suite This Second floor suite is with it's 60m2 our most spacious apartment with the most excellent view on King's Canal. The bedroom includes a king-size bed with a small office desk and a 17 inch iMac. It has a large separate living room with lounge area that allows for a 3 meter long sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. Ideal to relax, work or have meetings at the kitchen table. The bathroom comes with a rain-shower, towels, bathrobes and natural bath products. The living room working desk features an17 inch iMac computer with Television and free wifi. Cleaning service daily. Miauw Green Suite pricing (Second Floor): Rack Rate 2014 = EUR 245,00 per night (incl. 6% VAT & 5,5% Tourist Tax) - 2 Nights minimum stay - Due to availability Miauw Souterrain Suite Our Souterrain Suite is approx. 50M2 and gives you the feeling of having your own apartment with direct access to the Amsterdam Canal's. Just a few steps down from ground level, you land on a charming patio to enter the Souterrain Suite.. It has a large separate living room with lounge area and a B&O Television that allows for a 3 meter long sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. Ideal to relax, work or have meetings at the kitchen table. The bedroom includes a king-size bed and a small office desk with a 15 inch iMac/Television and free wifi. The bathroom comes with a rain-shower, towels, bathrobes and natural bath products. Cleaning service daily. Miauw Souterrain Suite pricing (Lower Floor): Rack Rate 2014 = EUR 195,00 per night (incl. 6% VAT & 5,5% Tourist Tax) - 2 Nights minimum stay - Due to availability Miauw Blue Suite Our smallest suite is approx. 32 M2 and has all of the features of an Amsterdam Canal House. It's wooden walls, classical ceiling and picture perfect view on the King's Canal makes it our most charming suite available. Situated on the first floor it includes a king-size bed, a bathroom, cozy living room and a working desk. The bathroom comes with a rain-shower, towels, bathrobes and natural bath products. The working desk includes an 15 inch iMac computer with Television and free wifi. Cleaning service daily. No kitchen included, but the Blue Suite comes with a small Fridge with coffee, tea and a water cooker. Miauw Blue Suite pricing (First Floor): Rack Rate 2014 = EUR 165,00 per night (incl. 6% VAT & 5,5% Tourist Tax) - 2 Nights minimum stay - Due to availability Miauw Black Room (*On request only) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Miauw Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miauw Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing