We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing walking tour”
Review of FreeDam Tours

FreeDam Tours
Ranked #2 of 458 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the fascinating history of the most liberal city in the world with FreeDam Tours - a unique, in-depth (free / tips only) walking tour that will leave you understanding and appreciating this city in ways you never thought possible. With the perfect mix of information and entertainment, combining history and contemporary lifestyle with unique personal stories and anecdotes that help explain the essence of Amsterdam and Dutch culture. With four daily tours at 10AM, 11AM, 1PM and 2PM, starting in front of the Old Church, in the heart of the Red Light District.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This city walking tour was highlight of our trip. Usually I want to know about the history of a city but I get bored listening to all these dates and historical facts and a few hours later I don't even remember most of it. But this city walking tour was different! It was a fun and entertaining way to know a lot about Amsterdam: the culture, the history, the people. Our guide was super fun and knowledgable. Would definitely recommend it.

Thank Kamilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Owner at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear Kamila. We are so happy to read our tour was the highlight of your visit to Amsterdam! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit! All the best from the entire FreeDam Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great tour"
in 319 reviews
"walking tour"
in 427 reviews
"personal stories"
in 107 reviews
"guide sergio"
in 26 reviews
"free walking"
in 48 reviews
"great stories"
in 37 reviews
"free tour"
in 86 reviews
"fun facts"
in 35 reviews
"cookies"
in 68 reviews
"informative tour"
in 49 reviews
"old church"
in 37 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 36 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 27 reviews
"amsterdam's history"
in 34 reviews
"great introduction"
in 24 reviews
"hour tour"
in 42 reviews
"visiting amsterdam"
in 65 reviews
Filter

2,267 - 2,271 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2016

Thanks Lieke, for the informative, funny and interesting tour! Hope you will continue spreading the stories!

1  Thank DavyvDorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Guide at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

Davy! Thank you so much for this kind review. One thing is for sure, I will always continue spreading stories, I love it too much! :) Lieke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our tour with Sergio. Lots of interesting history told in an entertaining style made this a great tour.

Thank Tage M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Owner at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Thank you Tage! I'm glad you liked me 'entertaining style' - a tour should be 'informative AND fun' right? :) All the best from Amsterdam, Sergio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

The tour was fantastic. We really like this company and our guide/owner Sergio was superb!!! He was very informative and entertaining at the same time. It's definitely worth going and it's way better than the tours which are organized by big companies which are most of the time promoting other of their events. If you want to do a free walking tour in Amsterdam this should be your choice. Good job guys!!!

Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Owner at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2016

Dear Alex. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for recognising what makes our tour different (and more genuine) then most other free walking tours! We are looking forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Yours, Sergio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Ami and her tour really made my day. She is awesome! Her sense sense od humor, her ability to put the history facts into interesting details are just amazing:)
Go Ami!

Thank Lucija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Guide at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2016

Thank you Lucija! Making history interesting is my speciality - your comments made MY day. Happy travels. Ami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FreeDam Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to FreeDam Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing