We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour with great local knowledge”
Review of FreeDam Tours

FreeDam Tours
Ranked #2 of 458 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the fascinating history of the most liberal city in the world with FreeDam Tours - a unique, in-depth (free / tips only) walking tour that will leave you understanding and appreciating this city in ways you never thought possible. With the perfect mix of information and entertainment, combining history and contemporary lifestyle with unique personal stories and anecdotes that help explain the essence of Amsterdam and Dutch culture. With four daily tours at 10AM, 11AM, 1PM and 2PM, starting in front of the Old Church, in the heart of the Red Light District.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Really good tour, funny, informative with great local knowledge and stories. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a tour round Amsterdam. Tour guide will recommend best local places to eat and drink as well!

Thank beth72015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great tour"
in 319 reviews
"walking tour"
in 427 reviews
"personal stories"
in 107 reviews
"guide sergio"
in 26 reviews
"free walking"
in 48 reviews
"great stories"
in 37 reviews
"free tour"
in 86 reviews
"fun facts"
in 35 reviews
"cookies"
in 68 reviews
"informative tour"
in 49 reviews
"old church"
in 37 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 36 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 27 reviews
"amsterdam's history"
in 34 reviews
"great introduction"
in 24 reviews
"hour tour"
in 42 reviews
"visiting amsterdam"
in 65 reviews
Filter

2,367 - 2,371 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed it very much. Sebastian the tour guide was very good. Great stories. Good time. Nice atmosphere.

Thank idogoldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Guide at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thank idogoldb
Hej Ido,
And I enjoyed hosting you. I am really grateful for leaving me this kind review.
Hugs,
Sebastian



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

As we were looking for a cheap way to get to know the city we decided to do the freedam tour. When we arrived we presented ourselves to our small but nice and especially multicultural group. During this 2,5h tour we were never ever bored, our guide, sergio added a lot humour and personal experiences to his stories and told them with a lot of passion. We learned a lot about the city and the culture. At the end of the tour we gave a tip as everyone else does but we were very happy to do it after such a nice walk around the city!

Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

The tour with Sebastian at 11am was really entertaining. Interesting facts and personal stories from an Amsterdam native for all ages. The whole group was laughing :) I strongly recommend this tour!

Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Guide at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thank Anna B
Hej Anna
:) , and so was I. Thank you a million for this review.
Hugs,
Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Took the tour at 11 and although the only allow 25 people there was 28 of us and it was completely fine. At first I was worried that we wouldn't be able to hear or see much but this was not the case at all, Sebastian always made sure we could and also tried to keep everyone in the shade and where possible places to sit down. He was more than accommodating!! In terms of the tour itself it took 2.5 hours and started near the old church and ended in the dam. It was a tip based tour and he stated most paid tours are €15 but he was happy to accept whatever you felt it was worth - we gave €10 each, some gave way more and others way less! He gave us a waffle mid tour to give us a boost and also a postcard at the end - very kind!!
Sebastian was very informative and has a wide span of knowledge!! It was clear he loved his job and put lots of effort in to make it fun and enjoyable!! Talked just the right amount and showed us many different places and things that you otherwise never would have known like why the houses lean forward and why they all have hooks.
Could not have asked for a better tour! Thank you Sebastian! Highly recommend to everyone!!

Thank jennycosens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreeDamTeam, Guide at FreeDam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thank jennycosens
Hej Jenny,
I am glad that the worries were not realised as well. But is was easy to accommodate the group since it consisted of people like you ;). Thank you for your words.
Hugs,
Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FreeDam Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to FreeDam Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;