We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic town hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Hotel Alkmaar to your Saves list
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geestersingel 15, 1815 GA Alkmaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Basic town hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly staff but a lack of air con and wifi in rooms means this doesn't make the mark for a business stay. Why so many rooms with twins as well..surely someone needs a king size?
Breakfast acceptable but please some basic hot food!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    107
    59
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
89
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotelrooms are good and clean. Breakfast is disappointing. I would suggest going into town to have a nice breakfast, Secure Parking is underneath the hotel and closed up for public only for hotelguest.

Room Tip: breakfast I will always go somewhere else to have a good breakfast. Hotelrooms are very good. Parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a cycling trip. The hotel is a stone's throw from the town centre which has a good range of shops and some lovely coffee houses. Our room faced the river...a lovely view but quite noisy due to the traffic and also, at times, hotel clients who stood outside the hotel's front door directly under our window, having a smoke and a chat. The hotel is clean and comfortable and breakfast was plentiful and varied.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the main road....although you will miss the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Hotel has excellent location ,clean rooms,very good staff. I did not eat the breakfast. Although the dining area was was very nice, the selection did not look up speed. With so many good places to eat in Alkmaar, why waste time, except it rained every day. Maybe they should invest in a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed there in March 2014 for one night. I've picked up the hotel because of its location and indeed it was perfect! Just the right starting point for an exploration tour of the old city centre. I have asked for a room with waterfront view and I didn't regret. It wasn't noisy at all, although just underneath your balcony there's a relatively busy street. The moment you close the window and you don't hear anything. The room was of a decent size. Breakfast buffet was also good and there was a sufficient variety. Staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel has a private parking, too bad you can't book a place in advance. If it's not that busy they will let you leave the car there even after check-out.
What I didn't like about the hotel - although at first sight the room looked clean and maintained, they hadn't dusted the furniture for days and the air was stale... Besides, there was black mold in the bathroom... And these things are unacceptable for a hotel pretending to have 4 stars, aren't they...
Will I stay again? - Yes, I will, because of its good location and the little choice of hotels within a walk to the city centre AND with a parking..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel was excellent in arranging check in, and the facilities provided were very good. Breakfast was expensive and limited in range. A good stay and good rail links with Amsterdam and other Dutch cities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small_fish_big_ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Perfectly adequate, a short walk from the railway station. Excellent draft beer form Limbourg on-tap; but no evening meals. The old town centre not very far away (5 mins.) but limited choice there. Maybe there are more places open in the summer and when it isn't raining. Found nice Chinese/Indonesian on the way to the station (3 mins.). Hotel was clean, bed comfortable (not very nice pillows) and OK breakfasts.

Room Tip: My room ovelooked the street, but I noticed no noise. Maybe different with the window open in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alkmaar
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#2 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
#4 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stad en Land
Hotel Stad en Land
#3 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Familie hotel Alkmaar
Familie hotel Alkmaar
#5 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
5.0 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Zuiderduin
Hotel Zuiderduin
#2 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrath Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Alkmaar

Property: Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Address: Geestersingel 15, 1815 GA Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an hospitable, charming yet modern hotel in the centre of Alkmaar, in which to stay the night during either a business or pleasure trip? If so, then the most comfortable option is the Amrath Hotel Alkmaar! Built in 2005, this new hotel has 84 deluxe rooms, 5 junior suites and 1 suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Amrath Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alkmaar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing