We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel ruined by incompetent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked and paid for this hotel via Expedia, when I checked in they took a copy of the Expedia receipt, even though the hotel knew I had paid in full they still took money from my account without notifying me, when the hotel refunded the money I didn’t get the full amount back due to transaction charges, the hotel have said even though it was their mistake it’s not their problem that I'm out of pocket.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Golden Tulip Alkmaar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a simple hotel/motel located near the motorway. It is not the cheapest place to stay, especially for what you get. The rooms are clean but basic. Near the football stadium and about 20 minutes walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Situated near the football ground and 20 minutes walk from town it is a good clean efficient hotel. I stayed for two nights and slept well both nights. I ate in the bar after a long day travelling and the service was very quick, the burger was good and the beer cold. the bar staff were very friendly and happy for us just to sit and eat at the bar. I feel I am cheating them to give an average score but it is not a 'great' hotel just a good one and I wish there was a 3.5 star rating..
Positives are many, staff all very helpful. Free soft peppermints at reception! Clean large functional rooms. Free internet which is reasonably fast. Breakfast was average. But I ate well slept well and have nothing but praise for the staff. So a good stay...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Family trip at Easter with a one night stopover at this hotel in a family room. The room was enormous, with a large double bed and a bunk bed almost lost in it! Beds clean and comfortable. Bathroom, again enormous. However, the rooms and the common areas lacked any style and soul - just very functional.

Comprehensive, tasty fresh breakfast buffet. The hotel is about one mile into the centre of town. We cycled (but could easily have walked) in to see the cheese market, which was a blessing because parking was very difficult. The centre of the city is lovely, with a great cafe culture after the market has closed down.

Overall, certainly no regrets or complaints about the hotel, but just felt it could be so much better with not a lot of cost but just a bit of thought put into it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKBigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to visit the region. Very convinient location if you have a car - right off the main ring road around alkmaar, so easy to get to and around the region. We visited Schoorl, which is very worthwhile. The centre of Alkmaar is 20 mins away walking, which is what we did, although their is a bus as well, but we didn't test that.

The room is good sized, everything that you would expect. The wifi wasn't smoothe though - we had to collect a code from reception, and then it still didn't work.

Breakfast is good, with a good selection of typically dutch breakfast items.

The staff are nice and friendly, and even put up with us speaking in our broken, slow dutch (this isn't always the case - Dutch can sometimes be a very hard language to practice with the natives).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmb987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were staying in the hotel for one night. The hotel is quite good located and can be easily reach from the center by taxi which costs about 10 euro. The room was basic but spatious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpfull. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast buffet was varied so everyone could find something for themselves. The price was reasonable and I received what I expected.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colintea89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Looking for a good hotel in the city of Alkmaar, think of this Golden Tulip. It is welll situated near the motor highway, but still in the city. With own parkingspace, good food and nice staff, this is a good accomodation.
Breakfast could be a bit better though: some items (for example scrambled eggs) were not available anymore at approx. 07:30 am.
Also, the bedrooms are very standard and sober, but with a lot of space and the bed was good!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Multax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#1 of 5 in Alkmaar
320 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#252 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
#4 of 5 in Alkmaar
156 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#298 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Alkmaar

Address: Arcadialaan 6, 1813 KN Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range: $93 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkmaar Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing