We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed her on a business trip, overall it was a nice hotel with individual designed rooms. However was lacking in little details although I was supposed to be in a superior room there was no kettle or coffee maker and the duvet on the bed was so thin I had to put the one from the other bed on top. Breakfast was adequate. Alkmaar itself was a quaint place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bingoboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
14
61
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately the weather was very bad when I visited Alkmaar and it was in the middle of the week, so when I arrived at the hotel it was dark, wet and quiet.
It is situated in the old centre near shops, restaurants and even a cinema all within easy walking distance. It looked very nice and I hope I get another opportunity when the weather and timing is more favorable.
They gave me a room at the end on the 2nd floor and it is a nice modern room of average size with a comfortable bed, tv, desk etc. nice touch is the provision of a senseo coffee machine in your room. Included is also internet, unfortunately internet throughput was so bad I couldn't pick up a single email. When I complained about it they said sorry and gave me access to the business connection, which was equally bad unfortunately.
After a good nights sleep and an excellent shower, I headed down to the breakfast room. Unfortunately they decided it to light it like a nightclub and it was quite dark. There is a nice selection of breakfast options, but I would avoid the scrambled eggs. I would be surprised if they used fresh eggs for that.
To finish things, there were a few niggles, but the value is good and the service is good as well. All staff was helpful and accommodating. If you need to be in Alkmaar I would definitely try this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Micbiel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in the city centre of Alkmaar with direct access to restaurants, the cinema and the pubs. The hotel is located in in an old post office which has been used as inspiration for all the decorating in the hotel and the name of the restaurant.

The rooms are modern decorated and of good quality. But I do not know if these rooms fit a 4 star hotel. The bathroom is ok but was a little bit smelly. In the morning you can grab breakfast in de "Zegels" restaurant. A simply but ok breakfast. Nothing fancy.

The pricing of the hotel is ok for what you get. But do not expect something very special based on the 4 stars.

Room Tip: We had room number 119. Please choose a different one because this is situated at the main hall for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nielsvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Grand Hotel in Alkmaar is a comfortable, well situated hotel in the old part of town, and an easy walk to everything of note. It has been renovated and extended, and is now quite modern. The hotel has a great bar area, and a large breakfast room. Unfortunately the breakfast wasn't that "grand" as the hot foods and coffee were cold - both mornings we were there, and the staff seemed as though they couldn't care less. The Reception was an odd place too - never anyone there. However, regardless of these oddities, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the street are noisy from the bar across the road, until about 10pm, then it quietens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed on Thursday night before the cheese market is held.
During the season, a traditional cheese market is being held at Waagplein on Friday morning.
I booked a deluxe double room, but maybe that has been upgraded to Superior double with courtesy of the hotel.
It was quite large room facing the Gedempte Nieuwesloot, and was bright with three large windows.
Sparkling wine was provided for breakfast.
To Waagplein and cheese museum is about 3 minutes walk.
Please try to shop by Notenbranderij, Magdalenenstraat 8, between the hotel and Waagplein.
You can buy delicious freshly roasted nuts.

Room Tip: 106 is large and bright, also toword to the street, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1100PlumGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We hadn't been here for 4 years so tried it again.The entrance is very scruffy and you have to struggle through all the smokers standing inside the entrance. There is also a big bin at the door always overflowing with rubbish. We paid a lot to upgrade to an executive room but it was basic. No dressing gown/slippers/pen/paper/tissues/minibar/iron/board/fan/ac/safe. No view and a lot of noise late at night from staff filling the bottle skips.The room was dark and the beds are very soft.The toilet is in a cupboard with no sink! The bath and shower are open plan so no privacy! Breakfast was poor with nothing for vegetarians. The location is good in town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlereddevilag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been there for two days in June 2013, for a technical training. The first impression was the Grand Hotel is not that... 'grand', I've almost passed by it (good thing they had the flags). Also, the lobby was hallway-like with access to all other areas and most of the staff seemed to be multitasking (receptionist, waiter, cook etc.).
However, after this wavering start, things were getting better and better. The service was great, the restaurant also, the junior suite room was very nice, the view not so much as it looked over the roof and the ventilation units but it didn't matter. The staff was also very friendly and helpfull. The location is very convenient, about 10 minutes walking from the railway station, right in the centre of the city, close to the cheese market.
All in all, it was a great experience, I will gladly return there.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi in the middle of the room and the double open-space showers are intriguing ideas. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alkmaar
0.4 mi away
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#1 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#2 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stad en Land
Hotel Stad en Land
#3 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Familie hotel Alkmaar
Familie hotel Alkmaar
#5 of 5 in Alkmaar
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
5.3 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
College Hotel Alkmaar
College Hotel Alkmaar
#1 of 9 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Alkmaar

Property: Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Address: Gedempte Nieuwesloot 36, 1811 KT Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Alkmaar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing