We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, centrally located hotel”

Familie hotel Alkmaar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Familie hotel Alkmaar
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We picked this hotel mostly because of its favorable location, right smacked in the center of town (via booking.com).
We had a twin room with shared bathroom in the section called De Molen van Piet, which hosts 3 doubles and one triple room.
Our room was right next to the kitchen and the toilet: when we were there, only one other room had guests, but I assume it could become quite noisy when all rooms are occupied. Also, the window of the room open on the small terrace where is possible to have breakfast but this can result in a fair amount of additional noise if the other guests are early risers.
The room was long and narrow: the first section, right in front of the door, was occupied by the beds, while the second had a sitting area with a small couch and a coffee table. Due to the lack of space the twin beds were pushed together which i found defies a bit the concept of having a twin room.
The beds were box-spring style but the mattresses were soft and one could feel the springs while the pillows were a bit lumpy.
As for the shared facilities, the shower was located upstairs and the staircase to get up there is a bit steep: personally I did not have any problem with this, but some people could find it troublesome. The shower room had two sinks and one large shower cabin. The room was clean and big bottles of soap were available for guests. The toilet, also clean, did not enjoy the best location being placed in between the kitchen and the breakfast terrace, which did not guarantee much privacy. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, which is available at an additional surcharge, so I can’t comment on it.
Overall I had an ok experience at this hotel (one night) due to its central location and proximity to cafes and restaurants, but I was not impressed beyond words.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Familie hotel Alkmaar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The owner picked us up, it can be hard to find but the location of perfect for exploring the city. Ideal location after some heavy pubcrawling at the nearby Waagplein.. There are different types of rooms in different buildings; do your research in advance if you are afraid of climbing stairs or have objections against shared facilities...!
We have a very nice time, the location and value for money are excellent.

Room Tip: do your research, there is a great variety in roomtypes, location, shared facilities etc.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked on booking.com a day before, and missed the driving instructions of the owner sent to us on e-mail. It is defenetly advisable to get them... The family appartement was on the 2nd floor with a iron starecase on the side of the building, my daughter 5 yrs was a bit affraid but we managed. Otherwise the room was comfortable with lots on space and the owner was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Endel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked for 7 nights but due to the ernomous amount of stairs, my elderley mother found it extremely difficult.We vacated the premises after one night and had to pay the full amount. The owner was quite rude and very unsympathetic to my mother's situation. After a month of emailing Booking.com we finally received a percentage of the money from the hotel. Found it very strange that there was no "reception" to register. The hotel informed us that they were a 5 star hotel but after making enquiries found this not to be the case.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 4 times during July and August. The first time I stayed in the main part of the hotel it was really large and very spacious the kitchen area was huge and the shower and toilet was very near the rooms all on the one level The next 3 times it was in the smaller area which had a shared kitchen and bathroom on one floor and the shower on the next floor. Having the use of the kitchen facilities was really convienient and I enjoyed sitting outside having coffee or a snack The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and not like a hotel at all The last time I stayed my 20 year old son was with me he loved the place we were on the top floor this time and had our own balcony which was great.The hotel is smack in the middle of town a great location Bob and Tiny are fantastic hosts I was there visiting a serously ill realative who sadly passed away whilst I was staying there The care and attention shown to me from both of them was wonderful Tiny even did my sons washing for him as he was going travelling when we left surely above and beyond what you would expect from hotel proprieters. The shared bathroom/shower put me off at first but don't let this stop you from visitng this wonderful establishment. I will never forget my time staying here and I will never forget Bob & Tiny such a lovely couple and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice in two weeks. The rooms are spacious and clean. It's very handy to be able to use all the kitchen facilities, ( saves some money too) the hotel has a nice friendly feel to it. it's like a home from home. The couple who run it couldn't be nicer or do enough for you.
The location is fantasic out the door and you're right in the middle of town. The only down side I would say are the shared toilet and shower. Although this wouldn't put me off booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I felt very at home here. The service is fantastic - rooms are clean & modern - the location is perfect. The owners are great people and really care about the guests.

Enjoy!! I look forward to staying again next time I am in town.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, see if there is a room where you do not need to climb. It did not both...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel012266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alkmaar
0.4 mi away
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#1 of 5 in Alkmaar
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
#2 of 5 in Alkmaar
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
Grand Hotel Alkmaar
#4 of 5 in Alkmaar
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stad en Land
Hotel Stad en Land
#3 of 5 in Alkmaar
77 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#3 of 8 in Bergen
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familie hotel Alkmaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familie hotel Alkmaar

Address: Payglop 17-19, 1811 HM Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Alkmaar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alkmaar
Price Range: $86 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Familie hotel Alkmaar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Familie hotel Alkmaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing