We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location + pizza ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dante Kitchen & Bar

Dante Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #1,889 of 5,983 Restaurants in North Holland Province
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, European, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location + pizza ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Nicely situated place with small tables on the sidewalk. Great for watching locals zip by on their bicycles and centrally located with other great eateries to make for an energetic part of town. Margarita pizza was overall pretty solid- a bit peppery, but had fresh spoonfuls of mozzarella cheese.

Helpful?
Thank russiantrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    75
    39
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

At first service was prompt and ordered quickly. After drinks arrived was told one meal wasn't available. Agreed to share the pizza and have a side dish of chips. After 20 mins the food hadn't arrived and had no further info. People who arrived after us had there food before us. Was given the chips after half an hour and asked where the pizza was. Only then we were told the chief had gone home and turned the oven off and there was no more food. The table next to us told us they had the wrong pizza, which turned out to be ours and they had arrived after us. The waiter let us have the drinks and chips for free as an apology but I'm sure it was only as we kept asking for our food, but was not given a real apology. Ruined a first night in Amsterdam, after travelling a long way and no romantic meal with the girlfriend as promised....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

On a girlie trip for 3 days - first time in Amsterdam and we found Dante's around the corner from our Hotel on Spuistraat. It's pretty central. The atmosphere was what attracted us and the amazing array of shelves behind the bar reaching to the high ceiling, filled with hundreds of bottles of wine and spirits. We had drinks and a lovely sharing platter and thought it was good value. A great way to start our break in Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garethgliderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Went here with 3 couples, wasnt very busy but service was terrible but the food was lovely when we got it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Albert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food never arrived!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

After waiting 45 minutes on a not particularly busy Saturday afterrnon, and watching other tables who had arrived after us get their food, we eventually just had to leave. The waitress could not tell us when our order would arrive - "It is not my responsibility. I just put in the orders."! No apology and no explanation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dante Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing