We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sarban

Sarban
Ranked #1 of 231 Restaurants in Tilburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having dinner at Sarban is one of the best restaurant experiences I've ever had. Everything was just perfect except that we were in a bit of a rush to get to an appointment later that evening. We told the staff and they were really friendly and told us we'd be out of the restaurant in time and we were!

We had a lovely dinner. The food is delicious and not expensive at all. The staff was amazing considering we are both vegetarian, but they whipped up three vegetarian courses in no time. We got to taste several dishes and they were all very tasty.

I would recommend this place to all of my friends! It's an one hour drive to the restaurant for us, but we'll be going back for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nephthys_Amunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    67
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was travelling on business and checked outnthe local advice on this app. Sarban was full on a Wednesday night, a good sign.
They did not turn me and my colleague away. They made us feel at home and we got a table within 30 minutes. The food was exceptional and well worth trying. If this is how the Afghan's cook then I want to visit. Awesome food.

Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic food served with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had planned to visit this place based on many recommendations from friends. Expectations were high and.....met. We chose to select the introduction/suprise menu and got offered a taste into a surprisingly tasty Afghan kitchen. From dishes/snacks people usually buy in the streets of Afghanistan to exclusive 'king's' dishes that only the elite can afford in Afghanistan. Being introduced to delicious traditional dishes was great and this quality was matched by the very friendly and informative waitor and chef. Both of them take time out to connect with their customers and gave backgrounds to what they're serving. Quite a special place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Went to Saban with a couple of friends and loved it.

It was my first introduction to Afghan food, so the waiter suggested he bring us a couple of different dishes, so we could try different things.

The wait staff are friendly, they joke around, and even sit down at your table and take the time to explain things. It's that kind of place. Great!

Reservations are very necessary, it's a popular place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A combination between a chique restaurant and an Afghan experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I've dined here a few times now, and have only had great experiences at Sarban.
The staff (lead by the brothers Ahmad en Wali Alizadah) is real friendly and the food is very good. The price is set (27,50 for three courses) and for that you get the whole experience, complete with the explaination of the food and wine.

The setting is quite modern but with Afghan decoration, a real restaurant-look and notting like a diner (which I mention because some people will faultly assume that most Egyptian, Turkish and Afghan restaurants will look alike).

In the back there's a corner where you can smoke an Eastern pipe, but I haven't tried this so I can't comment on this. There's also a small terrace outside at the streetside, where you can enjoy the sun most of the day.

It can by real busy, so make a reservation if you want to be sure of a spot.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miekeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarban also viewed

Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Tilburg, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Sarban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing