We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & Dirty!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tilburg
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy & Dirty!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This mainly business hotel is trying to attract also regional tourists but is not really a place I'd want to spend a restful break. Although very centrally situated, it is not a place to sleep or work (especially with such poor WIFI access). Restaurant is not at all bad nor is breakfast but I would really worry about the cleanliness of the rooms. Dust everywhere and stained carpets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey_reid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AV622, Front Office Manager at Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear misses Reid,

May we begin by thanking you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you’re satisfied with our restaurants. We would like to offer our sincere apologies regarding the poor wifi access and the stained carpets.

We have been having a few problems with our wifi access, we are currently trying to solve this problem. We informed our Housekeeping manager about your findings, she will take appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We are very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel this time and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jenneke van Spaendonck
Front-Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    256
    89
    30
    13
See reviews for
64
167
54
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

That was a very pleasant experience! I am using my own "star system" for hotels, and they got all of them: a) Free internet that works perfectly, b) flexible and friendly staff, c) VERY good breakfast (even with good options for vegetarians and vegans, but my meat-eating colleages were all deeply impressed too), d) a good bar/terrace, and e) a good shower. Furthermore, ample outlets for power, and a good desk to work on. Location also optimal. So five stars from me.

(I personally don't care how often hotels replace my soap or make my bed. I can deal with re-using soap, and I can also make my own bed)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werrington Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Firstly for the money we paid for the 6 days in a 4 star hotel it was not what we expected or accustomed too in Australia. The room we were given was no where near what is advertised on the hotel web page.
The room was not air conditioned, no tea & coffee making facilities and no breakfast.
Being a non air conditioned room you have to the window open for air, however at this location the night life starts at about 11.00pm and goes on to the early hours of the morning forcing you to close the window and get very little sleep.
I would give this hotel a 2 star rating and would not recommend it if you want to sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macka152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have family in Tilburg and Breda and was over from London for my sister's wedding. We were blessed with beautiful weather not just for the wedding but for the whole trip, and therefore spent a lot of time soaking up the dutch culture with rose's and biertjes op terrace! the location was just perfect, close to lots of shops and restaurants.

we also hired bikes from the Tilburg station and cycled to Udenhout, berkel enschot and find parks in and around Tilburg - EG: vondelbos

The staff were very friendly, even when they had to let us in from a late night out, catching up with little sis.

We liked it so much that we ended up staying another night!

we just really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ninx_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Mercure Tilburg is ideally located in the middle of town, close to the shopping streets and an unknown number of bars. Said bars make for a noisy experience, however. Every night I could hear the endless techno music from across the street, and although the windows are decently soundproof, they are not soundproof enough to stop a techno bar with open doors.

In general, the hotel and our room did not live up the 4 stars. Our room was clean, but had an aged and quite uninspiring interior. There was no water boiler in the room and therefore no free coffee or tea. Coffee was available in the bar, but they only serve about half a cup for 2 euros+.

The bathroom was large enough and included a bath tub, for those who enjoy them. There was a shower as well, unfortunately one with a curtain. When using the toilet, I had to turn my entire torso around 60 degrees to the right in order to be able to reach the toilet paper, which was inconveniently placed in a holder I could not open. The paper kept getting stuck in the holder due to its poor design.

Breakfast was nice, when the kitchen wasn't running out of things. Eggs and bacon appeared to be high in demand. The (delicious) fruit bowl was almost empty every time I checked it.

The staff seemed friendly enough most of the time, but I did witness the night porter trying to refuse some of his guests entry one night, for no comprehensible reason. The service was generally very slow and sometimes downright rude. Ordering a coffee in the bar especially took a lot longer than necessary, because the waitress left the bar to do other things while the half cup of coffee was brewing.

These are all small annoyances, but there were enough of them to make the hotel itself annoying. I may stay here again though, due to the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabiatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is a very central hotel, where all the shopping places, restaurants and bars take place. Although it is in a very loud place, if you close the window, you may sleep very easily because there is a great padded system of the rooms. Very clean, near to the transport. Definitely the best one in Tilburg!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zdbasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but it is showing its age and is a strange layout. The rooms are functional and the breakfast was acceptable. For an overnight stay in early April it was OK right in the centre, on the town square. There are bars, cafes and restaurants all around so would be great in the summer. I can imagine it being a bit noisy for some people though. I wouldn't want to stay here for any length of time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Passepartout1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilburg
2.0 mi away
Ibis Tilburg
Ibis Tilburg
#4 of 8 in Tilburg
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
Bastion Hotel Tilburg
#3 of 8 in Tilburg
226 reviews
7.7 mi away
NH Waalwijk
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Auberge Du Bonheur
Auberge Du Bonheur
#2 of 8 in Tilburg
125 reviews
6.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Gilze-Tilburg
4.9 mi away
Hotel de Leijhof Oisterwijk
Hotel de Leijhof Oisterwijk
#1 of 5 in Oisterwijk
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum

Property: Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Address: Heuvelpoort 300, 5038 DT Tilburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Tilburg > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tilburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum is the perfect place to enjoy your trip. The hotel is ideally situated in the city center, a stone's throw from the shops, the town's nightlife and the central train station, close to the Efteling and Beekse Bergen theme parks. There is also plenty to enjoy in the hotel itself, which will make you feel perfectly at home. For example, why not dine at Taste!, Our Gault et Millau-standard restaurant, enjoy a high tea in the Puur Mercure brasserie or unwind in our CitySauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing