We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Highly recommended for families מומלץ מאד”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Kroon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent. Highly recommended for families מומלץ מאד”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed there 2 nights, two families and had a great time. The rooms are clean and renovated, the staff is amazingly friendly, the breakfast is nice and there is a play room which the kids loved, located just near the dining room. They spent there an hour each morning while we had our coffee and prepared our bags and each evening... Plus is it walking distance of five minutes slow walk from De efteling park. There are 2 good restaurants we visited also walking distance from the hotel. Both kids friendly (try the Greek...) and good value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
82
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and it could not have been better! It is a 10 minute walk to/from the Efteling Park, close by there is a grocery store and different restaurants. For those traveling by bus, the bus stop from/to ‘s-Hertogenbosch and Tilburg is again just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The room we stayed in was spacious, super clean, and nicely decorated. The hotel has a playroom for kids full of all sorts of toys (even a slider) and a DVD to watch cartoons; the playroom is adjacent the breakfast room so it was perfect for us traveling with a three and half year old boy. Breakfast was really good (croissants, fresh bread, cheese, and ham and all sorts of jams). The two ladies running the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We asked to have a water kettle in the room and that was not a problem; we asked some suggestions for restaurants and they not only suggested one that was super good, but also called directly the restaurant and made a reservation for us. Moreover, in the morning they would enter the breakfast room to explain to each new guest how to use the automatic espresso/cappuccino/tea machine. We truly loved this place and we highly recommend it to anyone, especially families with children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, Friendly & Friendly staff, those owners of the hotel, perfect location, best value of money, nearby the Efteling Theme park (7 mns), highly recommended, it is better to contact the hotel directly for booking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASaadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the 4th time I've stayed at Hotel De Kroon on numerous trips to De Efteling and I've never had an issue.
The two ladies who run the hotel are friendly and welcoming. The hotel has been renovated recently with new bathrooms!
Breakfast is nice, lots of fresh rolls and meats/cheese.

So close to the park, walkable with parking so no need to pay 5euros at the park.

Couldn't recommend enough, lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bond231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Gozo Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is perfect for visiting Efteling, only a few minutes away from the park. The bus from Den Bosch stops in front of the park so it is easy to arrive at the hotel. The breakfast is very basic, just hard boiled eggs, bread and cereals. You have to carry the suitcases up the stairs as there is no elevator and the rooms only have a ceiling fan which proved to inefficient when we were there but then the temperature was not very Dutch. It was 35C. At least we had two windows and a little breeze was available. The room and the bathroom were incredibly very clean. It felt so safe that we just left the key in the door on the outside without realising. There weren't a kettle in the room but they provided one when we asked for one and the room had free wifi. A few doors up the road there is an Albert Heijn supermarket which remains open late. There are also a few restaurants and a Lidl in the same street.
The hotel sells tickets for the Park at the same price as if bought by internet and there is a large play area for the children near the reception.
Finally I cannot praise enough the two sisters who own the place. They are so nice and obliging, nothing was a problem for them. They waited for us on Saturday as the park closes after midnight and the next morning prepared our breakfast earlier as we had to leave by public transport.
I would definitively stay again at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeGozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently stayed for 4 nights at Hotel De Kroon and had a really enjoyable stay. The staff were excellent and very friendly and the rooms were great - family room with 2 double beds. There was a very enjoyable breakfast supplied & had a good kids playroom. The hotel is only 5 mins walk from Efteling so perfect if you're planning a visit. Would highly recommend a stay in this hotel & will hopefully be back again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The stuff was very helpfull and nice and helped us with any question we had.
We were with two children and a baby and the room had enough space for all of us. A clean room, very nice design. No elevator. Two special things about this hotel:
1. only 5 minutes walk to De Efteling.
2. They have a play-room , near the breakfast area, for the kids. its big and with a lot of toys, my 8 years old and 5 years old and 1 year old had a lot of fun in that room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASHARON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaatsheuvel
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Waalwijk
#2 of 2 in Waalwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Kroon

Property: Hotel De Kroon
Address: Gasthuisstraat 140, 5171 GJ Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Kaatsheuvel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kaatsheuvel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Kroon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel De Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing