We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming hotel in good central location & at a good price”
Review of Hotel Benno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Benno
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Eindhoven
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here 1 night on a short visit to Eindhoven flying Ryanair from Dublin. The hotel was very good value and was in a nice central location. I walked to the hotel from the bus & train station in about 10 minutes (there is a good fast bus from the airport to the station for just 3 euros). The room I had was fine, with a good soft bed, and had a nice view over the street. One cosy feature of the room was the potted plant on the table. This really made me feel at home. There was a TV mounted on the wall with lots of channels - including some english language ones. There was a shower in the room, and a WC just outside of it over the corridor. The breakfast was very nice and included fresh rolls, and hot strong coffee. There was a very useful library of books and magazines about Eindhoven on the ground floor. The carpet in the halls and stairs had all just been done new so everything was very clean. The breakfast / dining room was also beautiful and all new. From the hotel it is a very short walk to the funky Klien Berg area (cool shops etc). You can also walk to the main night-life areas of Eindhoven (Stratumseind) very easily from the hotel. I stayed there on a Tuesday night, and there was no noise or anything from the square. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a base to visit Eindhoven and the areas around it (from the bus / train station you can get buses / trains to all over Holland and even further afield).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 79 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed 1 night with friends at this hotel, which was discribed as 'basic', but we found it very good value and really clean, rooms were spotless, but no toilet, which was outside the room, but it had a shower room, and breakfast was in the resturant below which was really nice, city centre is two minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowAb4113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This Hotel has almost everthing, Good food, close to the center of Eindhoven. The service is great.
I would recommend everybody to visit Hotelbenno and have a dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantom357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

From the start I encountered problems with this hotel for my mid-January stay. The positive parts were the fact that tiny bedroom was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location convenient. However, it was such a struggle to get into the hotel that none of these things mattered. The staff's friendliness did not compensate for the lack of professionalism and inaccurate advertising. I booked the hotel because I needed a quick and easy place to stay ahead of a conference where I could use wireless internet and get breakfast. The wireless signal was too weak to work in my room on the 3rd floor and the breakfast food was spoiled. Due to the remodeling the breakfast arrived in a bag outside the room the night before and included non-refrigerated sandwiches with meat, milk, a mars bar, an apple. I was skeptical that it didn't appear to be refrigerated but tried the milk and it was completely soured. The biggest problem was that it took me over 2 hours to get into the hotel. I confirmed on the phone with the management that I would be arriving at 9pm and they said no problem, but when I arrived no one was there and I couldn't get in. The directions for calling are very obscure, one of the numbers does not work, and I did not even have a dutch mobile phone so had to go around looking for a payphone with all of my luggage and figure that out. After waiting outside for close to an hour another guest went in and said he had had the same problem the night before, and told me a different number to call. The management finally arrived but could not accept the standard dutch PIN/Maestro card for payment as was advertised on booking.com where I booked the night. They wanted me to walk 10 minutes over to an ATM to come back with cash and it was already 11pm at that point. All this said, once I got into the room it was small, simple, and clean. The communal shower was quite moldy but the toilet was fine. Given the problems, quality of the room, and lack of internet/breakfast, I thought it was overpriced at the 58 euro I paid for one night. The staff was friendly but did not acknowledge any of these problems even with pointed complaints from me -- they just brushed it off and kept talking about how excited they were for the renovations.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimsynthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The best of all was the cozy friendly feeling the owners and management put us in. They did their best to give us an excellent service and they did... The great thing is that they did it with heart not like they had to. We did really enjoy our stay because of the people there. Beside that, the hotel's location was very good, their food & restaurant is great, finally the room rates were very competitive compared to B&B and other budget hotels but with a much better services. They also offer free wireless internet which is a plus.

The rooms are basic and simple but clean. They are a bit small though & some of them would not have the toilet inside to take care as you book ... but we understood that the are working on renovations and upgrading them making all the toilets inside.One thing they would need to add is connect the rooms by the reception through phones.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEMEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

This hotel is in a great location, near to the centre of Eindhoven. The rooms are plain but clean however some have no en suite, some have just a shower room but they charge the same price for all (62.50 euro for doubleroom per night). I found the staff a little unfriendly and defensive. They have free wifi but there were problems getting it connected as some of the staff just didn't know how it worked. They have a pub style restaurant with a good mixture on the menu. The food is ok for pub standards but I did find it a little expensive for the quality. The service was quiet slow although the waiter was making a big effort. There is a buffet breakfast for 6euro with cereal,cold meat and cheese (not included in price). I was able to store my luggage on the day of check out. All in all, ok for a night or two but too expensive for the standard.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zizilabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank Henk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eindhoven hotels
Blue Collar Hotel
#19 of 26 in Eindhoven
225 reviews
Bergen
Hotel La Reine
Hotel La Reine
#17 of 26 in Eindhoven
102 reviews
Campanile Hotel Eindhoven
#22 of 26 in Eindhoven
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad
Boutique Hotel Glow
Boutique Hotel Glow
#11 of 26 in Eindhoven
241 reviews
Best Western Eindhoven
#18 of 26 in Eindhoven
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benno

Address: Wilhelminaplein 9, 5611 HE Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range: $78 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Benno 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Benno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing