We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fine dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Karpendonkse Hoeve

De Karpendonkse Hoeve
Ranked #34 of 355 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $96
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European, Seafood, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We knew this restaurant from two earlier visits (2004 dinner and 2009 lunch) and again had high expectations.
We had a 9-course ‘tasting’ menu (proeverij). The pace of the courses was fine, the explanation of the courses was professional and the staff was friendly and pleasant.
The fact that my messmate asked for fish-alternatives was no problem at all and well followed up.
The size of the portions was good: you are not filled too much after nine small courses.

Although the food was good, well cooked, professional service and good ambiance, we were missing something. We wonder if this has to do with the redecoration, which was less cosy than before. It also might has to do with our high expectations.
We paid euro 99 in advance for a voucher for the 9-courses for two persons, and euro 35 for drinks and tea (with lovely friandises).

If you can enjoy really good food, this is definitely a place to visit once in your life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimaro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    52
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
210 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice & quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a warm and very sunny day, so we could enjoyed the lunch to which we were invited for on the terrace. The restaurant is surrounded by a nice and quite public parc, even when you see people passing by you still can enjoy your meal in piece. A disadvantage of sitting outside are the flying bugs, in this case the wasps, but we could live with it.
The lunch was very good. Service is very nice, polite, formal but then again not too formal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamaragw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

on a beautiful location, this is my point of view the best michelan star restaurant in the region. Either for a romantic dinner or for a business meeting, it is always a good choice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After purchasing a deal on groupon we went with friends to this restaurant in April 2013. From the outside you would not guess that a lovely restaurant is hidden inside.We had good weather and ended up sitting at a table with a view of the park and lake.
We had an eight course menu and I must admit it was a little too much for me in the end. The food was really good though and definitely looked pretty on the plate. I had the vegetarian menu and my husband and our friends had the normal menu which included dishes with fish, chicken and lamb. The vegetarian dishes definitely had an asparagus theme. My favourite part was the two dessert courses. We also had the accompanying wine menu and I found the selection to be ok, but not great and I regretted not selecting my own wine since they have an extensive wine list.
Unfortunately we had to rush a little towards the end of the evening but the staff were very accommodating and made sure we were able to leave on time. In fact the service was excellent.
Overall it was a very pleasant experience. Compared to other michelin star restaurants I found the food to be just OK, but compared to non-michelin star restaurants I definitely find it to be great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fine wining & dining, professional, driven and good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everything about the Karpendonkse Hoeve gives you that same vibe; the experience should be solid and good, whether from the food, the atmosphere or the service point of view. We have been so fortunate to have a number of experiences here, for both lunch and dinner - and we've only been consistently pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Flogard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Karpendonkse Hoeve also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to De Karpendonkse Hoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing