We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and a superb service”

De Karpendonkse Hoeve
Ranked #46 of 409 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $95
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a superb service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a 3 course dinner here which was great. What stould out for us was the service and the wines.

The Friendly, professional and if you want to also personal service made our evening.

Definately worth visiting!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkeijzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    66
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food&Service with great wine menu per glass”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

one of the best restaurants in Eindhoven Area. yes, is kind of a business diner place when you first come in, but worth go for it. Try the classics from the international cuisine and you'll be happy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerpelt, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary with lunch at the Karpendonkse Hoeve in April. We have visited this restaurant occasionally over many years but this time they exceeded our expectations. The red roses were wonderful (and lasted two weeks!), the wine selection (by the glass) was superb and dishes like the asparagus with egg, oysters and caviar were to die for. The portion sizes were also very good and after three courses plus the inventive amuses our appetites were more than sated. Not a cheap meal but certainly worthy of their star rating!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
174 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good, but expected more.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This restaurant holds a Michelin star for over 30 years now. Nicely located just outside the city center of Eindhoven. We had a special deal consisting of a 10 course tasting of smaller plates. Most of them were fairly good but some courses lacked creativity and innovation. It's obvious that the kitchen staff masters all the required skills to provide a Michelin star worthy experience. Unfortunately this cannot be said about the attendants in the restaurant. We had 5 different members of the staff at our table during the evening. Too much, too inexperienced and too nervous at times. Timing could be better and our overall impression was one of being somewhat lost in this renowned place. Good? Yes. One of the best? No. Nice selection of wines and decent food and probably a great location for a business lunch but not the place that has a wow-factor or makes a lasting impression. I'll rate this place 7 out of 10 whereas several restaurants in Eindhoven will get a better score for a lot less money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DutchBlokeEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“..very pricy for average taste”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I've recentle been there together with my friends. OK I do understand and experienced the restaurants offering very small portions but if you're going to de Karpendonkse Hoeve don't go hungry.. The service is slower than I expected and combined with very small portions even for the main course youmay get nervous. Starters were quite OK, duck as the main course was again average only the desert saved the night! Nothing surprising,nothing outstanding no special taste- I found nothing to make my back to de Karpendonkse Hoeve. Overall- average for a Michelin star restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mixomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Karpendonkse Hoeve also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to De Karpendonkse Hoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing