We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed by food quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cooks

Cooks
Ranked #60 of 400 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Belgian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impressed by food quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

When you plan a casual diner in a cafe type restaurant you adapt expectations.
At Cooks we were blown away of the food quality and the good service. A mistake with the starter was more than compensated and the main course was excellent. ESP what they had done with the vegetables.
Enjoyed it obviously and will be back for another casual dinner

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDoorenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    59
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend always prefers to go to this restaurant when we are in Eindhoven for shopping, so we went to Cooks for some food again.

I had not been here in a while but the dishes they served used to be good, but they now seemed to have upgraded them to something more culinary, so they not only taste great now, but also look great :)

We had a good table outside the restaurant, and during the last year, they transformed the kerkstraat in Eindhoven into a street without shops, just restaurants, which makes it a very cosy street to have a meal, especially when the weather allows you to sit outside.

The staff was really friendly and helpful, and even had a little present for our 3 year old daughter.

The parking that is nearby for this restaurant is the heuvelgallery parking, its only a small walk from there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rrrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Truly Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate here recently when passing through Eindhoven. Not only were the staff extremely friendly, but the food was outstanding. We usually expect very little when we travel, hoping only to find a decent restaurant, but Cooks excelled on all fronts. If you are in Eindhoven, you simply must eat here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank b_robin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giussano, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting place but not too friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The waitress does not speak very good English and the day specials are written only in Dutch so I missed the asparagus dishes I was looking for.
The dinner was pleasant but not too quick, even if the restaurant was almost empty, and not exactly cheap. Not sure I will get back there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice food in pleasant informal atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visit Cooks on regular basis -usually on Fridays- because of the relaxed atmosphere and the fine tapas dishes at a reasonable price.

The restaurant offers a-la-card dishes and tapa's.
In all categories there are fish, meat and veggie options

We usually go for a 16 euro tapa menu consisting of 4 raciones of tapa-dishes that can be selected out of series of about 15.
Also for children there is plenty of choice.

Quality is generally very good.
The service by the waitresses is usually pleasantly informal

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HaraldvanderWeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooks also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Cooks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing