We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best food I ever had in NL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zarzo

Zarzo
Ranked #4 of 378 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
“Best food I ever had in NL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I travel to NL regularly and I was never happy with the restaurants there. But this restaurant is just excellent. The food is delicious and the prices are not to high for this high quality products. The service was excellent as well. The waiters explained all courses of the menu in detail. They are very friendly and I got the feeling they really like what they are doing. We had an unforgettable dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RainerHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    54
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Me and my wife have been here for dinner and the place made it up to the expectations.
Great service, surprising food and nice atmosphere.
Despite being located in a not so nice street, the restaurant is definitely high end.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank felizinRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too "nouvelle cuisine"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had heard some very good stories about this restaurant but were quite disappointed. We had a 3 course menu, which tasted good, nut the quantity was way below par. No one asked whether we actually liked the food ... so we had to make our complaints ourselves. This I find very awkward for a restaurants that's supposed to be "top". Btw nothing was actually done with our complaints until we spoke to the owner (?) when paying; "Oh but we could have given you some more of that delicious meat" ... Disappointing!
Also some of the electric lights were off due to electricity failure (beyond the control of Zarzo). Our table was very dark and we could hardly see the food ... which was seen as an unpleasant coincedence for us by Zarzo ... For me it is unacceptable to discharge these things so easily if you pretend to be a top restaurant and you charge these prices.
My suggestion: go to Wiesen!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank herman g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great evening out with a Spanish twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We based our choice on local internet feedback, that seemed to be over-enthusiastic. But Zarzo fulfilled our high expectations in every way. Though not low cost, the food and wine are fantastic. Very high quality tastes, subtle and surprising!

For us the combination of modern architecture, a bit off-site location and waterfront dining made it surprisingly attractive!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
492 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice, but too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice, modern restaurant in a bit off-site location. Good, creative food, nicely presented. However portions are too small and the bill is in the end too high: for this amount you eat in 1 star Michelin restaurant. Total amount 50/50 food/wine. Water-arrangement of €5 per person is a cash cow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catharina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zarzo also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Zarzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing