We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, it could be organized better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, it could be organized better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

the hotel is located in the city centre, but still not in the loudest part of it. We have stayed in short term apartment at the back of the hotel. The room was equipped quite well, there was a small kitchenette was more for breakfast and lunch and dinner cooking. However we were vey pleased with a room. It would be better if there was enough attention to service. Everybody was very polite and friendly, but it is not what makes service outstanding. It is placing yourself in a customer shoes and trying to make him as comfortable as possible. On the first evening it was noticed by hotel staff that the bulb was not working in the hallway, but through our 10 days stay, the bulb was not replaced. Than we have received letter with inventory list that we should have checked on our arrival. So I did, and first position 'armchairs' was already incorrect...Did one of armchairs disappear?? Did somebody steal it? Or maybe it is wrong list in a first place? I went to reception to solve the issue of and the lady behind reception question my ability to count or my sight as I apparently must have been missed out o 3rd armchair next to coffee table that I also could not see. Thankfully manger knew how to behave and he apologised for situation and promised that new inventory would be delivered. But it wasn't... My tip to hotel management: Please give up on inventory, if there is a glass broken it cost you less that 2 euro to replace it to ask your guest to check your inventory as we could have been potential thieves is not the most friendly welcome form the staff. If you decide to keep the list, please make sure you hand the right one. People at reception should know every room in such medium size hotel, where the widows, what is equipped in, and type of bed. I believe that's basic information that should be in a system to help them to their work. I would be looking forward to come back to see if my tips were taken into account.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review,

With your experiences we have been able to improve our processes. We have revised the inventory lists and changed all the policies to make sure that the check in is done properly.

Also we changed our maintennace procedures.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon so that we can show you our improvements.

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    166
    101
    29
    11
See reviews for
32
149
14
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice overall for what I paid an good value overall Breakfast was extra but at €15 included cooker option and continental Buffett and eat as much ad you want and good quality and range of food and drinks Staff were very helpful and all spoke excellent English Unusual for this type of continental hotel room had tea and coffee making facilities a real plus however items were not replaced during my visit The toilet also operated on a self flush mechanism which was a little puzzling Location is in easy reach of city centre a short walk through pedestrian area however this is through a noisy club and pub street although it us possible to walk around this street once you know the area Overall I was very pleased with the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel position is absolutely a plus, at walkable distance from the center and very close to bus stop that link you to several sites in town.
The hotel is quite nice for the common spaces: reception area, breakfast room,... rooms are not as good as the common area. Carpet in the room does not look so clean.
The bed is quite confortable and the room can be turned to dark very well and you can sleep without any problem of lighting.
Breackfast is quite reach, jams are fantastic. You have a wide range of solutions both if you want a sweet or a salty breakfast.
Staff is very kind and available to solve you any problem.
We arrived quite early in the morning and even though the room was not yet available they allowed us to leave our laggage in a secured area and to exploit the common area in the hotel.
We stayed here for the European Master Swimming Championship taking place at the Pieter van den Hoogenband stadium and the choice has been after all a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Ginger T

Thank your for your review. I am please to inform you that this week we are starting to renew the carpets in the rooms and the hallways. We are looking forward tom welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Sandton is located close to the nightlife center (Stratumseind) and shopping center of Eindhoven. It is a good no frills hotel.. This was our second stay in the hotel. The price of the breakfast is similar to other hotels, but you may prefer to have breakfast in one of the many restaurants nearby. The hotel has its own parking garage

Room Tip: In the late evening you may expect noise coming from Stratumseind, ask for a quiet room at the backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinylmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. regarding our breakfast we offer two options. Our breakfast buffet for €15,00 or our express breakfast for €7,50 during weekdays.

Sincerely,

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here from 10th July 2013 for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised. From the warm, friendly welcome to the well-furnished room, I really can't say anything negative about this place. It's perfectly located being just a 5-minute walk to the action (City Centre) yet enough distance to muffle the evening drone of the happy locals as they enjoy the typical Southern Dutch way of socialising in the cafe's and bars rather than home.

If I was forced to pick a criticism I would say the pillows were a little too large and hard for my liking but that's a personal preference.

The price reflects exceptional value and breakfast was vast and varied. All-in-all, a real pleasure and I would proceed with confidence and enjoy Eindhoven from this perfect City-Centre retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Gizago

Thank you for your review. Did you know that during the fall the city of Eindhoven is hosting two major events . The Dutch Design Week and the intenational light festival GLOW. We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Sincerely

Marc van den Broek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel,Sandton, although small, kept upto my business trip promise, albiet a little delay in getting me a cab on the first day morning. Everyone speaks good English. Breakfast is modest. Rooms are fine, a little small, which is OK. English newspaper in the reception maybe a welcome add-on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DPC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvdB5600, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear DCP14,

Thank you for your review. We have two types of rooms our comfort rooms and our Deluxe rooms wihich are spacious and feature airconditioning, coffe tea facilities and I pod docking station.

We are looking forward te welcome you back at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven

Sincerely,

Marc van den Broek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Sandton in Eindhoven is a pleasant enough hotel, the staff are really welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was quite OK although more hot options wouldn't go amiss. Perhaps that's a cultural thing though.
Wifi in the room was good, easy to connect to and quite rapid. The only small criticism I can make about the room is that the bed was VERY soft. I'm a hard-bed person so this was disappointing.
Overall though, a good hotel, well located with friendly helpful staff.
The hotel is very convenient for the town center and the "Van Abbes Museum"

Room Tip: Located in a quiet street, room selection did not seem to be important
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc v, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Hopefully we will be able toe welcome you back soon. Did you know that we offer on Friday and Saturday complementary snacks during cocktailhour from 16:00 untill 19:00.

Sincerely,

Marc van den Broek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eindhoven hotels
Binnenstad
Pullman Eindhoven Cocagne
Park Plaza Eindhoven
#2 of 24 in Eindhoven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Eindhoven
#3 of 24 in Eindhoven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Boutique Hotel Glow
#13 of 24 in Eindhoven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre

Property: Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre
Address: Stratumsedijk 23d, 5611 NA Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Eindhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Eindhoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star deluxe hotel with 25 classic rooms, 15 comfort rooms, 23 deluxe (air conditioning) and 12 suites. The hotel is located in the centre of Eindhoven and has its own parking garage (€12,00 per night), a bar/lounge and 6 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandton Hotel Eindhoven City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Sandton Hotel Eindhoven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing