We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even terug in Thailand”

Restaurant Sala Thai
Ranked #33 of 401 Restaurants in Eindhoven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Even terug in Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very nice food, cooked just the way I remember from my holiday in Thailand years ago.
Good service, friendly staff. Would like to go there more often but it's rather pricey.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“ridiculously expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lost in the middle of a very quiet neighborhood, the place looks good.
The problem is really the choices: 4 or 5 different kind of saus that are repeated with different meat. The prices are ridiculously high and the plates weren't really bid.
Altogether, even though the food was tasty, I would never recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ZERO in business acumen / customer service, food was average for Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant during our stay in Eindhoven, based on the many great reviews. My wife called in a reservation for 6:00pm for a party of six. We later contacted them again to notify them we would be running about 20-30 minutes later than anticipated, but assured them we were still coming to eat. The gentleman who answered the phone was somewhat anxious, and tried to first have us come much later in the evening, like after 9pm.... He told us if we would be finished around 8pm it shouldn't be a problem for his reservations that evening. We stayed with our original plan and arrived slightly before 6:30 pm. They had a table ready, and the place looked very clean and quaint. The waiting staff took our coats and led us to our table. Our group enjoyed each others company (a small family reunion of sorts) and before we knew it, it was nearly 8pm and we had just ordered another pot of Jasmin Tea and a bottle of water, and everyone was set on dessert. The front manager came to our table almost immediately following the pot of tea and said "we had to be going now". I looked at him, as did my brother, in amazement. We just gave him business upwards of 200 Euros and he was literally forcing us out in front of all the other customers..... Wow, he really ruined a perfect evening with family, by embarrassing us all. Probably why no Michelin Stars will be fell on this establishment! I understand the issues with reservations, I got it. Anyone who has paid attention to any basic business class, or just appreciates making repeated business, in a time of digital communication, would have planned their daily reservations to allow more than one hour and 45 minutes per table. The food was fine, but not spectacular, especially for the price. If you like Thai, it will probably scratch your itch, but wear your tennis shoes so you can run out quickly when they chase you out before being finished.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
468 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant I have been to outside of Thailand.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a small restaurant off the beaten path in Eindhoven. It is located in a converted house in a quiet residential neighborhood across the street from a school and a 10 - 20 minute walk from the centrum First time, bring your GPS, smart phone or map. The service is friendly and welcoming. On this visit, one of the owners (Zander) greeted our party of 7.

We come here because of the food. Very authentic. If you want not just the flavor but the spice of authentic Thai foods, just ask the waiter to increase the heat. But be careful.

The kitchen is located upstairs and dishes come down in a "dumb waiter". When the restaurant if full, time between courses can be a little slow. But the wait staff is good at keep your glasses filled. To help this, we ordered the "Sala Thai Special" appetizers for 8 and then looked at the rest of the menu. This special includes a tasty variety of spring rolls, satay, bamboo wrapped chicken, tempura shrimp, and spicy marinated beef. All very tasty. My preference is to wash this down with a cold Singha beer.

If you like soup, they offer a variety of soups. We had the Goong Tom Kha x 6 and Gai Tom Kha x 2. One is flavorful but the coconut milk helps control the heat. The other is a thinner broth with lemon grass and green Thai popcorn chiles. Be careful, the green slices on the bottom are not scallions and can pack a punch. The Singha also helps cut the heat.

For our main courses, we order a selection of dishes (Phad Phak Phasom, Khao Phad, Phad Thai, Gaeng Massaman Neua, Gaen Kiauw Waan Gai, Gai Phad Bai Ka Prow, etc.) These are served family style along with white rice. Everything is fresh and full flavor. Yummy.

You can order dessert. But we just ordered coffees or tea. These are served accompanied by chocolates (white, milk and dark). My favorites are the chocolate elephants.

I have been coming to Sala Thai for 20 years and my most recent visit was just as good and memorable as my first. Besides Zander and the wait staff, my thanks to the two head chefs (brother and sister) Sutee and Preeda Tripin, both of whom are originally from Bangkok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“The best Thai restaurant in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous food, try the sala Thai selection of warm starters is great, though quite filling. I had chicken with mushrooms and rice with pineapple which was fantastic!!! The portions are quite big so if you don't eat a lot maybe you should share dishes. Nice selection of beers and wines

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smcwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sala Thai also viewed

Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Restaurant Sala Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing