We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Must see in Den Bosch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John's Cathedral

St. John's Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Den Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must see in Den Bosch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

By far the most beautiful cathedral in the Netherlands. Take the stairs to the top as a tour for some good stories and a nice view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CampoFresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    287
    27
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Definitely the most beautiful Cathedral in the Netherlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A beautiful place of worship, with a chapel to the Sweet Lady of Den Bosch inside. A Roman Catholic Church with all the icons of saints, beautiful stained glass windows, giant music organ with great acoustics, definitely a site worth visiting. Den Bosch is just an hour away by train from Amsterdam, but the difference is awesome, from the crowded city to the quaint little town with a pretty square. The church is still an active Catholic Church where we were able to attend mass in Dutch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doc8reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My daughter's wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely loved this church! My daughter had her wedding here in June and it was fabulous! The church was so beautiful and they made a huge effort to accommodate us Americans as we do things slightly different than the Dutch. (The Dutch do not process down the aisle with father of the bride and bride as we do.) This would be a landmark that I would visit again just to tour the inside of the church and walk around, it was that lovely!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gingerbug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cathedral!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful cathedral! I spent 3 months in den Bosch, and always enjoyed staring at the cathedral whether walking by (day or night, although night is particularly beautiful) or sitting in a local cafe examining the angles and other creatures on the exterior. The organ is supposed to be one of the best in the Netherlands, and I was lucky enough to catch one of the free Saturday recitals. Unreal. Interior architecture and artwork are equally amazing. A must see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank talloneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very impressive cathedral. Was very full when I got in there, tourists, media etc but it is not usually like that. If you go to Den Bosh the cathedral is a must see

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarianaMussiBaptista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Cathedral also viewed

Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
 
Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
Den Bosch, North Brabant Province
 

Been to St. John's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing