We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive National Monument

St. John's Cathedral was built during the 13th and 16th century. It is an architectural... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Hendrik_NL
,
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Wonderful Masterpiece, with Delightful and Moving Updates to Modern Times

We loved the old cathedral with its intricate statues, and especially liked the angel with the cell... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2018
Ernie S
,
Orange County, California
Read all 1,146 reviews
  
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
201
117
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
117
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mobile phone light a candle gothic architecture worth a visit john's cathedral nativity scene flying buttresses sint jan beautiful building bell tower enjoy the view free entry old city jheronimus bosch angel organ roof
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

St. John's Cathedral was built during the 13th and 16th century. It is an architectural masterpiece. The size of the building is almost intimidating. Inside many historic objects ca be admired, to mention a few: the large organ, the pulpit and many stained glass windows. The Cathedral is justly one of the most important National Monuments of The Netherlands. Mentioning all the historic aspects of St John's goes much too far for this short review. I have added some pictures; these say more than a thousand words.

Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We loved the old cathedral with its intricate statues, and especially liked the angel with the cell phone. What a great way to make something so old also relevant to modern times, creating a new statue of a woman in jeans, with a knapsack over her shoulder and cell phone in her hand. Even better, you can call the number and help support restoration of the chuch. Ingenious.

Also moved by the stained-glass-window tribute to the victims of 9/11. Another modern yet moving touch.

1  Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The building is very impressive, outside as well as inside. Beautifully reserved and well kept. its unbelievable they could build these structures so many years ago. Space inside is enormous and has beautiful paintings and woodwork. The glass windows are also very impressive. Worthwhile a visit also when you are not religious.

Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

When we signed up for this tour I had no idea that we would be climbing the narrow staircase inside the tower! My kids immediately bailed and my husband took them across the street to wait. The rest of our group persisted and made it to the top after stopping at various levels for pertinent information from our guide. While I was able to understand, those who don't speak Dutch will be given a printed handout to read. If you're adventurous it is a fun and unique tour.

Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

From the outside looking at the building it's overwhelming and the detailts... the outside is worth taking time to look at it and to wonder about how it all is done. The inside is breathtaking. One should really take the time to see it all at ease and, want it or not, one can only feel the wonder of so much beauty and perfection. It's a completely different world.
When standing outside again it's like leaving a totally different world. Fort thiose who will visit this cathedral I fully recommend it and rememeber take the time to fully let the bveauty of it overcome you.

Thank Laimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

The Catholic St. John's Cathedral you cant miss in Den Bosch very imposing gothic building.
Free to visit , very well maintained inside , stained glass windows etc.
You can climb a tower , but not for me.
A must see visit.

Thank henlowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

The cathedral is impressive both from the outside and the inside. You can take a small brochure and track the numbers on the map, discover many interesting facts and be immersed in the vastness of the place. Do not miss the statue of an angel with using a mobile phone!

Thank Marosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely stunning cathedral, was overwhelmed... incredible architecture and beautifully maintained, well worth a visit x

Thank davidysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Nederland has three cathedrals in Haarlem, Maastricht and Den Bosch. The Sint-Janskathedraal is in Gothic style, rich in architecture, sculptures and glass-in-lead windows. The Maria chapel in the rear of the church was a focal point for pelgrimage and still attracts many visitors. As tourist you may nearly always enter the church and when services are conducted a central part of the cathedral is reserved for participating believers. Tours are organized and tickets can be obtained to climb the tower and enjoy the view over Den Bosch. The cathedral is located in the centre of town, not to be missed.

Thank JohnSt_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

If in Den Bosch you must visit this church. Exterior and interior are incredible. Stained glass windows, fresco ceiling and exterior details are marvelous. Don’t miss the angel talking on a cell phone!

Thank Davanrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews