We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel improved by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Hertogenbosch
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Den Bosch
Somerset UK
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel improved by the staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Arrived here late afternoon after a drive up from Paris, though it all looked a bit rough. After a couple of hours of emails (the internet works very well indeed) I headed for the bar, and that's when things improved. The layout is quiet funny, reception, restaurant, and bar in one area, so you can watch what's going on. The staff are very friendly, the foods not bad, which is quite good since I didn't notice anywhere local to eat, and it turned into a pleaseant evening.

Just for the record the rooms are clean and tidy but basic as you would expect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
20
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Arrived soaking wet on a very rainy day - staff very welcoming and helpful - room basic Campanile but welcoming and very clean. All amenities working fine. Pleasant small bar and restaurant.

Bus route from rail station to and from outside hotel fast and direct (15minutes) at peak times but off peak route goes on a much longer route (35 minutes) with nearest stop about 400mtrs from hotel.

WiFi internet included with clear signal in rooms

Room Tip: Motel style - external access to rooms- better views on the side away from the car park facing canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Hotel Campanile is a motel--a US-style exterior corridor, no elevator, plastic cups in the bathroom kind of motel. In spite of being in a "suburban" area of Den Bosch, the rooms are still quite tiny--like you'd expect to find in the center of European cities. But, in this case you are a 45-50 min. walk from the center or a 15 euro taxi ride. It's not even well-connected to bus lines nor do they rent bikes as many places in Holland do.

Overall, on the positive side, the hotel was clean enough and had a modern, minimalist feel to its decor and furnishings. It is quite close to a park that is good for jogging or walking if you like to do that. The wifi is included in the rate and pretty reliable. That's about it for positives.

The main negative other than the inconvenient location was that the shower curtain was not long enough so that no matter how I tried to fasten it, hold it, adjust it, etc. my bathroom floor was covered in water after every shower. Then I had to use all my towels to mop it up--and even then, it was too much to be absorbed.

The second biggest issue was that there was only 1 outlet in the whole room. All the room appliances were hard-wired in (hair dryer, lights, even the tea kettle!) and there was only one available plug. So you had to choose whether to plug in the lamp, your computer, or your mobile. You couldn't have a lamp and your computer at the same time.

Other minor aggravations:
*If you want to use the desk, you have to roll the bed off to one side to sit. Bed is little more than a cot, so this is not difficult, just annoying.

*There is no full-time front desk. Their hours are 6:30am-11pm if I remember correctly. This wouldn't be a big deal except a) their key cards get demagnetized easily b) if you have an early departure they can't call a taxi for you nor close your account c) security. Even though the Netherlands has a pretty low crime rate, I couldn't help feeling a little uncomfortable walking across a dark parking lot to my exterior-facing room clearly visible from the parking lot and knowing that there was no one on duty at the front entrance.

*There is no business center or any way to print things (not even a boarding pass).

*Breakfast is very basic for the price and you must pay for all your breakfasts up front when you check in rather than on a morning by morning basis. I would say that it isn't worth it except that the hotel is so isolated from other restaurants and businesses that it is your only option within 15-20 min walking--maybe more.

*Meals are only available at the hotel restaurant during set hours. Again, it wouldn't be a huge issue in and of itself but the isolated location of the hotel means if you arrive between meals, you have no option of eating unless you take the 15 euro taxi back to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonprofit business traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Den Bosch hotels

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Great little budget hotel on the outskirts of Den Bosch which was fine for me as it was very close to my meeting the next day.

For 75 Euros, the room was clean, comfortable with good wifi access and a couple of English tv channels (CNN, BBC World). I phoned ahead as I was arriving late (around midnight) and although reception closes at 11pm they put a notice on the door with your room number where your key will be waiting.

Breakfast was typical Dutch fayre with bread, cheese, ham, cereals as well as bacon and scrambled eggs.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Motel type - with room door opening to an outside corridor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank huw2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 19, 2004

The Hotel Campanile is a low budget hotel / motel near a lake on the outskirts of Den Bosch sometime in the Nineteen Seventies. The rooms are above basic, and clean and comfortable and the hotel is beside the main road into Den Bosch and two minutes from the motorway. Breakfasts were the standard Dutch fare, lots of bread, cheese, ham and fresh fruit etc, but dinners were a bit of a hit and miss affair, particularly for vegetarians. All in all it was very good value for money (our total bill was €420 dinner, bed and breakfast for two for 5 nights) and the staff were an absolute delight as they couldn't have been more helpful. Hopefully someone will buy them new uniforms though as they were desperately scabby looking.

If you are looking for a half decent hotel at a good price in Den Bosch you can't go wrong here. Or you can pay three times as much and stay in the town centre.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Den Bosch
3.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel 's-Hertogenbosch
2.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Hotel Central
2.4 mi away
Best Western Euro Hotel
Best Western Euro Hotel
#3 of 8 in Den Bosch
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant ’s - Hertogenbosch
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jo van den Bosch
Hotel Jo van den Bosch
#5 of 8 in Den Bosch
55 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel & Folkpub Terminus
#8 of 8 in Den Bosch
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hertogenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hertogenbosch

Property: Campanile Hertogenbosch
Address: Goudsbloemvallei 21-25 | Maaspoort, 5237 MH Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Den Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Den Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hertogenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Campanile Hertogenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hertogenbosch Den Bosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing