We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Drink Description”
Review of Bagels & Beans

Bagels & Beans
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Breda
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Misleading Drink Description”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a matcha latte which is matcha (green tea extract) and milk. I specifically said unsweetened. When it came it was very sweet. Turns out they use sweetened soy milk to make it. So why didn't they either say that on the menu or tell me when I said I wanted unsweetened?

The service was very slow, the cafe was packed with barely room to move between tables, and even though I only had 2 sips of the drink and complained about it they just shrugged and billed me 4 euros something. Very, very poor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Victel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
spring creek, nv
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was crazy busy but worth a short wait. They offer fantastic bagel sandwiches and a variety of other breakfast and lunch items. Right down town in the shopping area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Vibrant Atmosphere and Great Menu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the only place in Breda that serves you a BIG cappuccino when you order a big one! If you want a pint of cappuccino in a mug, you'll love these. Choose from other kids of coffees, teas, fruit drinks or smoothies. The food ranges from bagels to muffins and desserts. The staff are all friendly and you can choose to sit indoors (where it is always about 25C) or outside on the terrace if the weather's up to it. Tiny niggles include the fact the wifi never works unless you ask one of the girls to reboot it and the fact they don't have any sugar-free coffee flavorings, but those are minor details. You can get cappuccino at the other end of Breda, closer to my house, but it's worth walking down to Bagels and Beans because you know you'll get good service and nice food/drinks. I recommend the caramel cappuccino and the everything bagel (different seeds on top) with carpaccio is also delicious. I wasn't keen on the cheesecake but if you like quite plain cheesecake you might like it. You can buy bagels, cream cheese etc to take home too. I recommend Bagels and Beans in Breda.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I always leave this place relaxed and happy”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I lived around the corner from this place for two years, came here regularly. Especially love it during the week, when it's not filled with shopping crowds. Always has relaxing music. I loved just sitting here, checking my mail, using the wifi to surf a little. Best coffee i tasted in breda. If you want to cut the costs, order one bagel with cream cheese and then a second one without. One portion of cream cheese is enough for two bagels. Also try the multi-everything fruit juice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arend H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, nice variety, healthy and fresh food”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I live in Breda and have been to B&B a handful of times. All my friends loved it but I could not see why... it was just 'bread' with random toppings, stuff I could make at home.

ALAS, I now see the light. Last time I went there, it all clicked. The place is great! I have a better appreciation for freshly squeezed juices, their bagels are pretty good and they have a nice variety of toppings. The atmosphere is cosy, and furthermore I do have an appreciation for places that try to source their products sustainably. They have a large choice of fairtrade products and simple but tasty recipes. Nice variety for vegetarians, and even one gluten-free bagel :) Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagels & Beans also viewed

Breda, North Brabant Province
Breda, North Brabant Province
 
Breda, North Brabant Province
Breda, North Brabant Province
 

Been to Bagels & Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing