We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floriade location & fabulous food”
Review of Hotel Wilhelmina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wilhelmina
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Floriade location & fabulous food”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Couldn't be better location - opposite the train station & short bus journey to the Floriade. Our room was clean, but simple. We had booked the 'package' with breakfast & dinner. The meal was one of the most delicious we have EVER eaten at a hotel. Only a couple of choices but absolutely lovely. Would highly recommend & very good value.

Room Tip: Do book a package which includes dinner - absolutely wonderful food, expensive if not part of your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavisH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    18
    16
    2
See reviews for
14
20
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As previous reviewers have said, this is an older Hotel across the street from the railway station and the location is excellent, especiallly this year for visiting the Floriade Festival. I always think when reviewing an older, in town hotel some allowances should be made, and I feel some previous reviewers have been a little unfair. Our room although not large was perfectly adequate, it faced the railway station, but was quiet, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower over the bath and was well equipped with toiletries and a hairdryer. There are no tea or coffee making facilities, which in my opinion is a mistake, which could easily be remedied and make an extra improvement to the hotel. There is free wifi which was very effficient and an elevator to higher floors. There is free parking at the rear of the hotel. The breakfast was included in the room price and had plenty of hot and cold choices, although the scambled egg is to be avoided, the rest was good. We stayed here for two nights and ate in the hotel restaurant both nights. The food was excellent though rather expensive and there is not a very extensive choice after 6 pm, but it was convenient. We found all of the staff to be very pleasant and helpful especially RENS, who went out of his way to help us, his english is flawless which was a great bonus. I did think the hotel was expensive for what we got, given the two previous nights we had stayed at an excellent Best Western also in the centre of Town, at Emmelloord for 40 euro a night less, but maybe they are cashing in on Floriade here, and as it only happens every 10 years, I suppose we can't blame them. Would we stay here again, overall probably not, but on this occasion it suited our purpose and we don't really have any major complaints.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel was near Venlo station which was a 2 mins walk and that was why we decided to stay. Asked for early checkin but not available so left our bags at counter...staff was not so helpful.

Room was big although we asked for a double room and had basic amenities. Shower was OK and room was clean which was what we needed after a long day at Floriade. We did not have dinner in the restaurant as it was quite full at about 7pm and we ate in venlo town instead.

Breakfast was simple and the bacon strips were too tough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road as there are traffic in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithMattLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in the Wilhelmina for two nights last week whilst visiting the Floriade. Our travel agent made the booking, but I checed it out on the internet first. Four stars !!!! it said

The place is tired and old fashioned and we were given our key and told the room was 'that way' !!. We could not sleep in our first room which was on the ground floor, next to the main road. The beds were uncomfortable with lumpy (and only one) flat sponge filled pillow. There were no tea or coffee making facilities, and the place felt like a cell - very, very basic

We managed to move rooms the next day, to a much smaller but quiter room at the back. I'm a size 12, anyone a bit bigger would not have been able to squeeze past the wash basin into the shower.

The people in the room above us decided to have a party at 10.30pm at night, it felt like they were in the room with us. We stuck it for nearly an hour and spent the next hour trying to get in touch with someone from the hotel to sort it out. We eventually got to sleep about 1.00am

The breakfast was dreadfull and the staff did not even say good morning or point out where all the self service bits were to be found. There was a large ornamental rooster (cockerel) on the centre table and when I ran my finger over it the dust trail was very easily seen, we decided at this point not to look closer anywhere else

The food in the restaurant was very good, but slow, and if like me you did not get what you actually ordered, the staff were quite stroppy, as was the receptionist when we 'escaped' !! We had pre-paid our room, but the charge was on our bill, we queried this but they would not check their system, we had to hunt through all our paperwork to find the vouchers we had been given. The money was grudgingly taken from oour accout, but nobody asked how we'd enjoyed our stay or wished us a good day

We both breathed a sigh of tired relief when the train left Venlo - never again !!!

Room Tip: I do not think there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venlo hotels

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights on their gourmet package which included bed and breakfast and dinner. The food was superb, very tasty and beautifully presented. Special dietary needs are accomodated. The hotel is old fashioned and the room was clean but quite basic. The ensuite had a good shower over the bath but no hairdryer. The tv had English channels but no tea or coffee making facilities. There is free wifi. The hotel is very conveniently situated opposite the rail station and bus station with a bus to the Floriade every 15mins - tickets available from the train station for 3euros 50 return. The staff were friendly and efficient and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EHO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecosse
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night only but it was very good a bit old fshioned with some quaint arrangements( we had to go through the kitchen to our room) but the service was generally very good if a little slow the food was excellent and reasonably priced over all we enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel great value for money and very convenient,straight across from the station and in the middle of town

Room Tip: the 400 rooms are on the ground floor if you want to look out ask not to be put there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed in a single room at Wilhelmina hotel last week.
At the beginning the room was pretty cold (but it was -9° outside), but with the radiator turned to its max, it was OK.
The room is average, with a nice bathroom (good shower pressure). It offers free and high bandwidth wireless, which is a reason that made me choose this hotel.
To the contrary of what was said here below, the breakfast is good, with a large choice of food and beverages.
At night, we got an excellent treat at the restaurant, and the waiter was really great.

All in all, for 72 €, I couldn't expect more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venlo hotels
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
1.1 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
0.4 mi away
Theaterhotel Venlo
Theaterhotel Venlo
#3 of 7 in Venlo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puur
Hotel Puur
#7 of 7 in Venlo
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valuas
Hotel Valuas
#4 of 7 in Venlo
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Campanile Venlo
Campanile Venlo
#5 of 7 in Venlo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilhelmina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilhelmina

Property: Hotel Wilhelmina
Address: Kaldenkerkerweg 1, 5913 AB Venlo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wilhelmina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Wilhelmina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing