We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”
Review of Campanile Venlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campanile Venlo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Seemed like a motel, very dreary and old decor and tiny bedrooms, but served a purpose. Food in restaurant was not bad quality but shame they don't dress it up a bit- it's in the same room as the kitchen,reception, bar and looks like an american motel from the 80's

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Yes, it's basic, with a room which recalled my student hall of residence many years ago. But it is clean, well-run with a proper kitchen in sharp contrast to many of its UK equivalents. Architecturally, it's a bit Bates Motel with rooms in a separate building to the reception/restaurant, but I would return

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is located in a quite area. It is close to the highway but far away enough. The service is nice and quick. The breakfast room is rather small and you may have to wait to be seated. The room are suppose to be no smoking, but from the smell, I think that not everybody is respecting it. The bed are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ares77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Used this hotel for our trip to Floriade. Accomodation reminded me of student accomodation. The hotel, if you can call it that was seperate from the reception. It was only possible to get out of one side of our bed as the room was so small that it would not allowed access to the bathroom. The room was dated and had a slighly musty feel. We were on the ground floor, with only lace curtains, so we had to lower security shutter for privacy. The walls were so thin, that I was woken in the morning from snoring from the next room, (They may have been woken by mine too!!!) I could clearly hear them talk. We were on the ground floor, and we were greeted by the sight of many rat traps just outside our room. Breakfast was expensive, so like another tripadvisor, we took the bus (83 every 1/2 hour) into Venlo. In fact we used the bus in the evening too, as there are numerous restaurants in Venlo, which is a nice place to wander around.
On hindsight we should have booked into a better place in the centre, for the additional amount. I certainly won't be using Campanile again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Campanile are usually good hotels, and this one was no exception. Clean, good comfy bed, pleasant surroundings, not too noisy location but still not far from main routes. On the edge of the town, so transport needed to get into the centre. Bus stop nearby if car not ideal. Half hourly buses. Possible to take bus into town then pick up shuttle bus to Floriade. Or leave car in underground car park in town centre, then get shuttle. Cost-wise not much difference. But nicer than parking in the vast parking area at Floriade. Note that parking at Floriade costs E10 per day.
Evening meals at hotel good value for money and food OK. Rather 'boil in the bag', so the deep fryer was being well used, but tasty enough and salads nice and chips excellent. Breakfast however was extortionate at over E11 per person. Buffet style and lots of choice so you can gorge, but even so. We had the first breakfast there, then found a great place in the centre of Venlo (Delifrance) where we had a superb breakfast at half the hotel price, then went off in the shuttle bus to the festival. We would return no problem, especially now we know where to have breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Finding it very difficult to find a hotel in this city staging this year's ten year celebration of the festival and having tried more than a dozen possibilities two months in advance, I managed to book six doubles at Campanile 30 mins outside city centre. Great choice, very friendly, nothing flashy just ALL the basics very well presented. Hotel situated some distance outside the city centre but we were lucky to get a booking during this year's festival. P.S.If you like 'Chinese', book a table at the Chinese-Indisch restaurant called PENANG at Stalbergweg 95. Real 'bog standard' place- bill for 12 people £137 for 'the works'. Certainly not the Ritz but the 'best' Chinese I have ever had

Room Tip: Go for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNCLEBUCK503920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It is amazing how people can write reviews from totally the wrong perspective! Campanile hotels are basic business type hotels, very reasonably priced, usually offering good basic food at a fair cost and are certainly not to be compared with Hiltons, Holiday Inns etc (or their prices!). If you want to take a family away for several nights - why on earth pick a Campanile? This shows a complete lack of knowledge of hotel chains. We stayed for two nights when visiting Floriade and the room was basic but totally clean. Although the hotel was full, there were no noise problems as the building (which is similar to an American motel in its style) is solidly constructed. The staff were helpful and we have no bad comments about it. I agree that, if you have any mobility problems, go for a ground floor room because the stairs are narrow. Other than that, as a stopover and not a holiday, it was good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venlo
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
8.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Sevenum
Tulip Inn Sevenum
#1 of 1 in Sevenum
131 reviews
3 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#6 of 7 in Venlo
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Theaterhotel Venlo
Theaterhotel Venlo
#3 of 7 in Venlo
33 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Valuas
Hotel Valuas
#5 of 7 in Venlo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Venlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Venlo

Address: Noorderpoort 5 | Veegtes, 5916 PJ Venlo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range: $53 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Venlo 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Campanile Venlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Venlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing