We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Valuas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Valuas
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Venlo
omer israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

the hotel located by a riverside and has a very good restaurant whIch is probably the main reason people visit the hotel. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom is OK. we enjoyd the outside of the hotel, the river, walking around and in the summer sitting outside will be marvelous. The best part of the Hotel is the Brasserie where yoy get a very good food for fair prices. To sum up, the Hotel is not modern but we enjoyed very much our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Last year as well as this year I stayed at Valuas after having a company Christmas dinner here. The experience for the hotel is completely out of sync with the standard of the restaurant. Do something about it: I might stay more often. As it is today, Van der Valk is a much better choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel room looks like a Boy Scout excursion retreat - just terrible. Deep 70's style and bed size for kids. Bathroom in flashy dark brown. Scary. Floor panels sound like in a horror movie. Every step you take, everyone just wakes.
The restaurant on the contrary is different. Waiter wears white gloves and a soup starts at €15,- for starters. Good food but extremely overpriced.
Won't stay here again and really cannot recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissRalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at the Valuas with friends in order to visit the Floriade. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were impeccably clean, beds comfortable,the bathrooms (though a bit dated) were more than adequate, and the riverside location lovely. We stayed in road side rooms and can't agree with previous reviews regarding noise. We were disturbed just the once by an over zealous emergency vehicle which passed with all sirens blaring at 2am! Otherwise, as the hotel is located in a quiet residential area, we slept wery well. Breakfasts were great, with eggs cooked to order, a good selection of fruit and juices, and baskets of home baked breads (including specially baked gluten free bread for one of us), as well as the usual continental offering of meats and cheese. Venlo itself is a charming small town, a 10-15 minute easy stroll from the hotel,where we found dining places with no trouble for the two nights we were there. Everyone we encountered, from taxi drivers to waiters, were extremely friendly and welcoming. I must make a special mention of the Valuas staff, who were all superb. They all spoke very good English- thankfully- and all went out of their way to assist us with our various questions and problems with good humour and tireless service. Our only,minor,issue was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nootychoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had dinner in the brasserie one evening. Stunning location on the river the Maas, and the bar is a cosy small area to have a pre dinner drink.
We choose the menu of the day, and it was really good. Very tasty with lots of fresh and seasonal ingredients. Finger lickin good.
The restaurant was a bit cold due to the aircon set very cold.
Highly recommended.
We wanted to go for a second dinner three weeks later but unfortunately they were closed for their annual holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccywoccydooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

A really nice friendly hotel with reasonable sized rooms. Good breakfast to set you up for the day.
Ate in the brasserie which seemed quite upmarket. Good food.
Majoring on Asparagus (winner of the dutch asparagus restaurant of the year - 2012).
Only problem was that the wine & water was left out of reach on a central table so one had to wait for the waiter to notice you needed a refill!
Came back a little late one evening to find some sort of function underway and both car parks were full. Fortunately the residential road opposite has no restrictions so parked there overnight although they offered to move the car for us once there was space.
Near enough Venlo town centre to walk if you want a change of eating place, but also convenient for the east/west motorway to get to Floriade and Belgium.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma Queensland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on the recommendation of a good friend. Our room was superb (although the bed could have been firmer),breakfasts & dinners excellent quality and all staff were very attentive,friendly & helpful. The position on the river is delightful and an easy walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venlo
1.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
2.1 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Bovenste Molen
1.0 mi away
Campanile Venlo
Campanile Venlo
#4 of 6 in Venlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#5 of 6 in Venlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandton Chateau De Raay
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puur
Hotel Puur
#6 of 6 in Venlo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valuas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valuas

Property: Hotel Valuas
Address: St. Urbanusweg 11, 5914 CA Venlo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Venlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Venlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valuas 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valuas has a four-star hotel with 17 spacious, comfortable rooms, which all boast a contemporary interior with warm colours. Some rooms even overlook the Meuse river. Hotel Valuas is the perfect location to extend your lunch or dinner and treat yourself to a stay of one night or more. Venlo and its surroundings offer countless possibilities for relaxation, leisure and sports. The hotel rooms can be booked even without a lunch or dinner booking at Valuas. Hotel Valuas is a member of Quality Lodgings, a group of small and authentic quality hotels where culinary pleasures and accommodation go hand in hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Valuas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing