We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel - absoloutely fine for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Limbourg Sittard
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sittard
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My colleague and I stayed for one night while on business in Geleen and liked the hotel. It is a charming little place.

The hotel is located very centrally in the town in a pretty location - great choice of bars and restaurants around. We ate outside, at the hotel restaurant - the food was very good, the atmosphere was relaxed and staff were very friendly and helpful.

My room was situated around the corner from the main entrance of the hotel. This was a few steps only. Unlike a previous reviewer, I found the area to be well lit and I felt absoloutely safe - no concerns whatsoever on that score.

The room was comfortable and not at all noisy - in fact, the following morning I found that a market was set up in the main square. None of the traffic had disturbed my sleep at all, the room was quiet and I did not hear noise from outside or other rooms.

Wifi was available in the room and worked well.

I would stay here again and I can recommend this hotel to business travellers - it's a nice place to stay with a bit of personality rather than a soul-less, generic, international box!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

Firstly getting there. I visited Sittard many times in the 80's and 90's so expected no problems. Error! Took me well over an hour to sort out parking and get myself into the room with baggage. It wasntthe best start as the first advice by staff was faulty. However the manageress got involved and all was sorted.
Room was lovely, although the absence of a lift did mean a lot of stairs for my poor knees, and not wide ones either!
I faced onto the square which suited me. I was dog tired so would have slept through anything. had windows open as no aircon, point to note ok.
However, some might have found the noise, both late and early, to be excessive.
I had a light snack there [panini] and some drinks but only had breakfast, which was an adequate continental, nothing to stir you to great words or deeds.
Manager and Manageress were charming and extremely helpful throughout my stay and are a credit to their hotel.
However, the absence of internet in the room in thsi day and age is something that needs to be addressed. Yes it was available in public areas, and I used it in the bar. Personally I hate having a few hundred quids worth of laptop out on public display, or prone to the spillage of lager that goes with bars.
If you want to explore Sittard then it is magnificently placed, within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants you will need.
So, to sum up. Parking ***, Internet **, Hotel facilities ***, location ****, price ***.Food***.

Room Tip: For peace and quite, not facing the square :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

First of all this is situated in the market square - very charming. The restaurant was very nice and allowed for a pleasant dinner. BUT - the room was around the corner - VERY creepy and dangerous - the street was poorly lit and did not make me feel safe as a solo traveler. The door requires a key to open and I was then faced with a circular staircase to carry up my luggage - naturally no elevator. This is completely inconvenient for a business traveler with multiple pieces of luggage. The walls are paper thin - street noise is quite prevalent at night - this hotel is really for college students traveling around Europe - not for those trying to get a good night's sleep prior to a business meeting.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusTrav106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Not so bad: clean room. Good breakfast. Good location.
Not so good: the main door closes at midnight so you have to keep a key of the back door. I think they have to have someone 24hs working at reception.
No security: they keep the keys in a non protect place and anyone can take your keys and enter in your room, mainly when the restaurant is full of people like happened with the day we get to Sittard, in a middle of a catholic celebration day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coraliun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed here with my son and booked online for a pricey 130Euros only to find myself in a tired hotel above a bar/restaurant on the main square of a lovely town. I preferred a quiet room which was generously offered to me but the room turned out to be tiny, completely inappropriate for our party and looked out onto the fans of the kitchens below. We opted to stay in a large room with a view but the windows were so old you heard the wind whistling through, and when it wasn't the wind it was the neighbor down below you sneezing or turning in his squeaky bed... don't bother! Staff was very gracious but could not make up for the desperate need for upgrading this very very simple hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed for three days in this very nice hotel, room 29 is a big room with lots of windows. The hotel is situated in the centre and once outside you can choose some great restaurants for lunch/dinner. Hotel itself also has a great restaurant and terrace.
We used this city to stay for the Pinkpop music festival. You can take the train to Heerlen and then only 5 minutes with the lightrail to landgraaf. Nearby , if you have a car,also possibilities to hike in the woods. Would go back the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Tried to book online at a website offering rooms for 60euros a night, but haven't got the right kind of card.
Got there to find a building site. the bar was in place the first night, and gone the next morning.
Dodging painters whilst getting to the rooms during the day was not much fun, and the lie in was disturbed by hammers and de-construction.
To add insult to injury the bill was prestented at the end showing 90 euros per night. (I notice that they changed the website prices very quickly!)
On appeal the rate was reduced to 75 euros, however I don't feel that this reflected either the standard of the room nor the current state of the business.
Very disappointed as I now need to find somewhere else to stay in Sittard
Paul

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sumosys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittard
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merici
Hotel Merici
#1 of 5 in Sittard
276 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Resort Hotel Sittard
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Prins
Hotel de Prins
#5 of 5 in Sittard
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oranje Hotel Sittard
Oranje Hotel Sittard
#4 of 5 in Sittard
16 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Kasteel Doenrade
Hotel Kasteel Doenrade
#1 of 1 in Doenrade
146 reviews
4.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Limbourg Sittard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Limbourg Sittard

Address: Markt 22, 6131 EK Sittard, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Sittard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sittard
Price Range: $126 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Limbourg Sittard 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, café, restaurant and appartment in one! There are plenty of shops for the shoppers among us and another advantage is that de Limbourg Sittard is on the market, in the heart of Sittard, surrounded by great cafes and restaurants. So enjoy! There is plenty of connection from the market to the station, you can walk, but also go by bus! The station is about 700 meters and you are there within 2 minutes by bus. From the station, you can easily make day trips to Maastricht, Eindhoven, Roermond. There is a good connection with the bus and train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your De Limbourg Sittard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing