We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice, friendly service, quite new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie to your Saves list
Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloosterwandplein 12-16, 6041JA Roermond, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roermond
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, friendly service, quite new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice now, and both were enjoyable experiences. The hotel is located in the centre of Roermond, a cosy and friendly city for a visit, on a recently remodeled square. The hotel itself is also quite new and modern but with a classic interior. It is actually combined with a theatre and also hosts a restaurant and a cafe with outside seating on a raised edge of the square.

The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious, well appointed and complete with a nice bathroom with tub, separate shower and toilet. The decoration is mainly modern but cosy and the rooms come with the basic mod cons one might expect: TV, air conditioning, telephone, enough closet space and 120 minutes of free Internet (via a provided standard Cat5 UTP cable).

The reception area is in the back of the main hall which can be confusing, but that's because it is located nearer the rear entrance where you'd enter coming from the car park (covered, paid, but you get a free exit ticket whe you stay at the hotel). The staff is courteous and friendly and checkin and checkout is quick and easy. Your room card also operates the lifts to the rooms, which is a secure feeling when leaving your belongings in your room for the day.
All rooms include breakfast in the Brasserie on the ground floor. Breakfast is a standard continental choice, but plenty and fresh.
Hotel guests can also use the fitness rooms and sauna.

All in all I quite like this hotel, and although rooms start around 100 Euros it is well worth the price for a nice stay in Roermond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    144
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
142
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lamone, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The building is amazing, impressive the view of the big saloon. The rooms are very nice and well cleaned, the staff is super, free parking, GREAT breakfast. I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Well worth the interest but eat outside, and drink in the Tram Halte. Nice people,

Room Tip: Drink and ask for advice in the Tramhalte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panbasher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Plusses: Free parking in the Q-Park behind the hotel; city centre location; quiet at night; friendly (english-speaking) staff; well above average breakfast (e.g. freshly pressed orange juice, great coffee); good view from window (8th floor) over Limburg

Minuses: None really, although the room description on booking.com gets a bit carried away e.g. "A luxurious room featuring a large bath tub, a separate seating area and a private, French balcony."-no luxury, just a nice room; bath tub normal, not large; seating area not separate; balcony standing-room only. Not a big deal of course but I don't know why they need to raise expectations when what they have is perfectly good. Price for 1 night was 120 Euros including parking and breakfast for 2.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Tenerdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel whilst on business. I had a lovely room on the 6th floor which looked out over the square in front of the hotel. The room was very spacious with a good bathroom which had separate shower and bath. The bed was the comfiest bed ever which meant sleeping was easy. The facilities were great with the terrace bar and the cafe bar and breakfast was lovely, especially the fresh orange juice machine. All the staff I met were wonderful, helpful and very polite. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Easily booked on-line. The hotel is a very large, modernised structure in the very heart of pleasant Roermond, Limburg, The Netherlands. It has conference rooms, a theatre complex, several restaurants. Views from the rooms are picturesque.
Spacious reception area with library-like seating areas. Check-in was efficient but the lady was surly almost impolite and not in the least helpful. E.g. she said she had no information at all about the city. When I asked the friendly and helpful gentleman in the next shift, he immediately produced a map and gave good advice.
Rooms are rather average; beds not quite comfortable; excellent and well-lit working desk; very small TV screen; enough closet space. Functional bathroom with bath as well as a shower. Fine views (we were on the seventh floor).
The hotel brasserie L'Orange served an excellent dinner with fine wines; good waiting. Breakfast had a broad spread (scrambled or boiled but no fried eggs).
Internet is through the KPN; it's complimentary and limited to three hours.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have nice views over the city and its surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here mid-November 2011 for one Saturday night stop over and we had a number of near and full misses by the house, which made our experience rather mediocre

- When trying to reserve on their website no room was available, but a call to reception learned "There is a large exhibition in Duesseldorf, so no rooms are available via the website". Rather an odd thing to say, especially since Duessedorf is more than 65 km away.

- We then booked a room via the reception desk (no CC info asked) with air-conditioning, which in the end we did not get (no air-co). The in-room safe was not working properly either.

- At booking we requested the late check-out service (normal check-out is at 11, which is arly in the weekends). At check-in, we were initially told that late check-out was going to cost us € 10 per hour, instead of the € 12.50 for the "Lazy Sunday" option as advertised. It took rather a lot of convincing the lady at the reception desk to confer with a colleague "in the know", so after 10 minutes of debate we finally got the Lazy Sunday option.

- We ordered room service, for which you have to pay extra, 2 starters and a main course. The food was good, only a petty that the food was luke warm at best (no covers on the dishes when bringing them from the kitchen to our room)

- We were rather upset when at 11.30 the next morning, the reception desk rang, asking us when we were going to vacant the room, knowing that every additional hour would be invoiced € 10 !!!! After having to convince the lady behind the counter (the same one than the day before) that we'd taken the Lazy Sunday option, our night's rest was shot to pieces. Since we only got back from a celebration at 5.30 a.m. we were in a rather foul mood and could not get back to sleep

- When we left the hotel to get lunch, at our return, our key cards did not work anymore, so we could not get back into our rooms. We had to wait 10 minutes for the reception desk to become available, before we could get out cards reactivated. In the mean time we had to use the public restrooms, of which some were not working properly

On the positive side :

- The rooms are spacious, clean and the bathroom has all the right amenities (additional pillow covers would be great)
- The hotel is very quiet, even for its central location
- You can get to the city center in a whiz, it is literally at their doorstep

Overall, we were disappointed by our stay here. The hotel did not live up to its expectations.

Room Tip: If you want air-conditioning, make sure you as for it at booking, if not you might just wind up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roermond
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dux
Hotel Dux
#3 of 7 in Roermond
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Het Arresthuis
Het Arresthuis
#1 of 7 in Roermond
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roermond
Hotel Roermond
#6 of 7 in Roermond
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ringhotels De Oolderhof
Ringhotels De Oolderhof
#5 of 7 in Roermond
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fletcher Landhotel Bosrijk Roermond
0.7 mi away
Kasteeltje Hattem
Kasteeltje Hattem
#4 of 7 in Roermond
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie

Property: Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie
Address: Kloosterwandplein 12-16, 6041JA Roermond, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Roermond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roermond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Theaterhotel de Oranjerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing