We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely quirky boutique hotel...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mabi
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky boutique hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Enjoyed a Christmas shopping weekend in Maastricht and stayed at this lovely quirky boutique hotel - very clean and comfortable. Ideally situated right on the Markt in the centre of town. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and full of interesting photos and artefacts of the old days of cinema. The room was large and clean and well-tended. (The bed was far too soft for me but that's a personal choice thing.) Didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food. My only negative would be that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It may just be a British thing, but a kettle and a welcome tray are very important to me! With the addition of these I would give 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christmaslights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    204
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
57
187
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed one night at Hotel Mabi in November. The hotel is boutique style chic...wonderfully decorated with movie-themed photographs and and a cinema style interior. The front desk staff was very nice and accomodating and speaks perfect English. There is a complimentary wine and olive happy hour from 5.30-7, which was great. Free Dutch coffee was given to us upon check-out. Overall, this was one of the best hotel stays I have ever had....perfect location just steps away from the Markt. Highly recommended!!!! You will love this place!
Oh---and the breakfast, while a bit pricey, was terrific. Plenty to choose from and very fresh. Worth the money if you want to relax in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edelweiss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here five nights with our toddler and enjoyed the stay thoroughly. We had our reservations due to some reviews (e.g., 'drifters'), as well as the unusual decor. What we thought:

- Location was outstanding. Steps from market square and had convenient parking at the mall nearby. In terms of the 'drifters' - they were the same folks who would wander in the more upscale Vrithof square. Maastricht felt like a nice European town not overrun by tourists. And it wont be the Netherlands without the bong shops. We felt safe throughout our stay.

- Facilities were better than expected. Rooms were nice but on the basic side - no A/C so that is something to consider if you're visiting during the summer months. Bathroom not so nice with a strangely situated ledge/mirror. That said, they tried to make the most out of the space. The dining room and lounge were fine. I do agree with others, they can rethink that giant horse in the lobby.

- Very good service. Where they lacked in facilities, they made up for in service. We needed a minibar to store our toddler's milk. Since there were no minibars in the room, the front desk were gracious and tireless in storing our milk at a big fridge behind reception. Housekeeping was thorough. Reception was efficiently staffed - e.g., the person checking you in also keeps the lobby tidy. So pls dont expect a doorman and valet.

Aside from the above, it did have nice touches such as the Limburg pie in the afternoon and a comprehensive breakfast. Again, dont expect a chef making you a special omelet on command. It is a buffet and had a lot of options from fruits to cereal to cold cuts to hard boiled and scrambled eggs. I liked the coffee machine that did lattes and espresso.

Overall, we think it was a thoughtfully appointed hotel that managed to constraints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchellNAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good location next to market square. Staff very helpful.The rooms were fine and quiet. Bed soft but comfortable, good bathroom amenities. Although the breakfast is rather expensive...14 euros...it is adequate....pity about syrupy orange juice.
The hotel has been sympathetically converted from an old cinema and it does help to give it a boutique feel.
because of location and friendly staff well worth 4 star rating.
Maastricht is all within easy walking distance, lots of nice bars/restaurants and squares nearby, giving it real 'continental' appeal. A surprisingly good 'city break.'

Room Tip: There was a little through noise......if you can get a room away from the lift. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Fine hotel, well located in Maastricht. My room was spacious and comfortable. Staff is friendly and gave away a "sleeping pill" (little bottle of wine) when I arrived at night. I enjoyed my stay, yet the hotel didn't convince me. Breakfast, for instance, consisted of fake orange juice and bad coffee. My room was pretty noisy at times as well, as the inner doors are not well isolated.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Mabi is an old converted cinema, but you would never know it. The hotel is a very modern, small (boutique) hotel with a great price-tag. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were well appointed, with free wi-fi, very nice bathroom amenities. The beds appeared soft (an initial concern) but we slept very well, so our concerns were unfounded. There was no extraneous noise from outside, although we did not stay over a weekend.

Special touches include: a tray of apples in the lobby for guests to munch. If you prefer, there are jars of sweets. There is a small library from which you can take reading material if you forgot to bring your own. And best of all, every night from 5:30 to 7:00PM there is a free wine-and-olive tasting. And finally, a small cinema that screens films every night (new ones each Friday).

We did not try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all Maastricht visitors. It is very conveniently located (near the market square, and about 200 meters from bus stops).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spend a night at the Mabi for a short weekend break in Maastricht and the location is absolutely perfect for that: all shops and nice bars and restaurants are right around the corner and the room is still quiet as can be at night time. The hotel has a few nice perks for guests, such as a small cinema and a free glass of wine in the late afternoon.
The room is very large, but we did feel it got very hot at night. The welcome at the hotel reception on the other hand could have been a bit warmer. As rooms are not available till 3pm, you are to put your luggage in storage. The lady at reception handed us the key for the storage and let us to it, without further introduction to the hotel. This may have been a one-time fluke, but is still felt a bit cold.
Other than this, we did enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mabi

Property: Hotel Mabi
Address: Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mabi 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mabi City Centre is situated in the historical part of the city, in a building where the Cinema Maastricht offered its services. The theme of this unique hotel is therefore, Film. The hotel wants to revive and preserve its nostalgic past by offering its own cinema. Furthermore, the hotel offers a library, a salon and free Wi-Fi. The design of the rooms is contemporary, with warm colors and big windows. The theme Film is also present in the rooms in the form of large posters from classical blockbusters and of course Oscar winners. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, luxury bedding, modern bathrooms and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel is ideally located on a quiet courtyard in the center of Maastricht, which will guarantee a good night's sleep. In the Salon you can enjoy your day with a cup of fresh coffee or tea accompanied with a piece of delicious local pie, while reading a magazine or book. In addition, Mabi City Centre offers in the afternoons an aperitif with a glass of wine and olives and in the mornings a tasty breakfast buffet is served. The reception is at your disposal 24/7 and will gladly help you to find your way in Maastricht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing