We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in the old town”
Review of Hotel Mabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mabi
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Mabi is an old converted cinema, but you would never know it. The hotel is a very modern, small (boutique) hotel with a great price-tag. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were well appointed, with free wi-fi, very nice bathroom amenities. The beds appeared soft (an initial concern) but we slept very well, so our concerns were unfounded. There was no extraneous noise from outside, although we did not stay over a weekend.

Special touches include: a tray of apples in the lobby for guests to munch. If you prefer, there are jars of sweets. There is a small library from which you can take reading material if you forgot to bring your own. And best of all, every night from 5:30 to 7:00PM there is a free wine-and-olive tasting. And finally, a small cinema that screens films every night (new ones each Friday).

We did not try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all Maastricht visitors. It is very conveniently located (near the market square, and about 200 meters from bus stops).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 530 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spend a night at the Mabi for a short weekend break in Maastricht and the location is absolutely perfect for that: all shops and nice bars and restaurants are right around the corner and the room is still quiet as can be at night time. The hotel has a few nice perks for guests, such as a small cinema and a free glass of wine in the late afternoon.
The room is very large, but we did feel it got very hot at night. The welcome at the hotel reception on the other hand could have been a bit warmer. As rooms are not available till 3pm, you are to put your luggage in storage. The lady at reception handed us the key for the storage and let us to it, without further introduction to the hotel. This may have been a one-time fluke, but is still felt a bit cold.
Other than this, we did enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had an odd experience at Hotel Mabi. They expect you to leave the key with them when you leave the room which we did. One time the key they gave us didn't work. They said that particular lock was not okay. We had to wait a couple of hours till that small guy who does maintenance came and then magically he opened the door. That's when we realized, if they want to give you a hard time for whatever reason, they switch the key and make you wait a couple of hours to get into your room. Guaranteed to ruin an afternoon. Wonder what else they are capable of doing. On the plus side it is close to downtown. Depending on your interests this may be a plus or minus -- there's a bong shop a few doors down.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the road, too noisy. The fourth floor has a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A relative small hotel with an eye for spoiling guests with " freebies". One can help oneself to afternoon tea accompanied by Limburg vlaai, ( a tart) at 3pm or at 5.30 pm wine and olives.. no limits! If tired after a day enjoying Maastricht one can take in a film in their once again, free, wee cinema. Beds are of course very good, cleanliness reigns high and reception is helpful and friendly.I think the first floor is probably the best to be on.

Room Tip: Rooms at the beginning of the hall are handiest to the one lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We chose the Mabi because of reviews on tripadvisor and for its location right in the center of Maastricht.

The location is very good indeed, right in the center, just steps from 'everything'. The downside: Parking. You park your car in a public carpark - once you find it - and have to carry your bags up a very narrow staircase and for about 200 m through the streets - once you find your way. The hotel staff was not extremely helpful. They suggested using the backdoor, which is certainly closer to the carpark, but it was locked.

The hotel design is nice and creative. The Mabi offers a lot of small treats (from sweets for free everywhere in the hotel to movies in the hotel's own cinema). The rooms are adequate and offer everything you need - except a chance to sleep at night. We had a room facing the street - and some places that spelled p-a-r-t-y until about 4 a.m. As it was hot and there is no A/C, we had to keep a window open - which was also not easy, as you can only open them about two inches.

The breakfast was ok - but with a staff that was somewhere between unfriendly and rude.

Taking everything into consideration, we will definitely not stay there again and found that you don't get an adequate value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street = rooms to definitely avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spotted the hotel on-line and it looks really interesting, it being an old cinema it had some really nice touches, like keeping part of the old cinema that shows film for most of the day.. it was showing Fawlty Towers while I was there..! . the room was nice and clean with a great bathroom, its hard to believe the hotel has been open for 9 years it looks new. They have some nice touches like a free glass or wine (or two) in the evening and the breakfast was really good.
Great location, sitting between the river and the square and great value.. Recommended.

Room Tip: hotel is happy to safely store cycles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Mabi Hotel in Maastricht for the Andre Rieu concert recently, following advice from trip advisor contributor.
It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. It felt like home. Room was excellent with really nice extras, shampoo,bodylotion toothbrush and many more thoughtful items for guests.

It is located about 5-7 minutes from square where the concert was held.

Lots of sweets, apples and icecream in the lobby for guests, at all times. Each day in afternoon they served beautiful cakes with tea and coffee and in the evening wine and canapes.

It was so homely, as you came and went they were very attentive, with umbrellas in wet spells.
Would highly recommend it also provided information on activities in the area.
Browtal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mabi

Address: Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: $85 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mabi 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for guests who don't just want to be part of the crowd and who want to create their own story. A stay at the Mabi City Centre Hotel means giving free reign to your fantasies and bringing stories to life; stories imbued with just a hint of those censured scenes of the iconic films of the past. Within the walls of Mabi City Centre Hotel, located in the heart of the historic city centre of Maastricht, a world is created that inspires you to write your own script that is enacted against a backdrop of classic decor in the flamboyant 1920s Art Deco style but with a contemporary twist. Our personal service and luxury facilities create a new impression and experience of freedom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing