We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They even have à cinema inside!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mabi
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Velserbroek
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“They even have à cinema inside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very nice hotel in THE city centre of Maastricht. In THE neighbourhood we heard there were drifters etc. But we didnt see them. Walking distance Nice restaurants and pubs. Maastricht is THE place to be and also visit THE Pietersberg and THE caves.

Room Tip: We always check THE bed at first, but they were really outstanding. Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    174
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
52
167
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Mabi is decorated with wonderful photos of Hollywood celebrities and rooms are named for some of these celebrities. Three of us stayed in the Charlie Chaplain room, which was super spacious. We had a queen bed as well as a twin plus a separate area with a large couch for sitting. The hotel has a small theater space set aside for guests to view classic films. We did not do that as we were in town for the Maastricht carnival, which was well worth the visit. We really appreciated the tea and pie and wine and nibbles that were available every day. Breakfast in the morning was better than your average continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here with three young children. Rooms are large but noisy. Could be cleaner. Not impressed with reception staff suggesting MacDonalds as a place to eat with kids when we asked for advice. Rather unfunny but apparently they were "only joking". Overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callalilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great location downtown Maastricht. Consequently: no private parking.
But you can book (and pay) a parking spot in the public parking garage close by.
Original is the fact that the hotel used to be a movie theatre.
Staff however is not very professional.
Arrangements made upon reservation were forgotten for instance.
Like in any other hotel you can leave your luggage for later pickup after you checked out. But you're just handed the key to the luggage room. So who checks if you take the right bag?? Never seen that before...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxcote5830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel used to be a cinema, and that theme is omni presented in the funky interior of the lobby, breakfast room and guest rooms. The hotel's location is very central, and the rooms we booked were very spacious. Self service Continental breakfast is served in a trendy warm inviting breakfast room. We received a nice welcome and the staff was very helpful. After a day of sightseeing in Maastricht we returned to the hotel, to discover that every day at around 4:30 PM FREE! coffee/tea and typical Maastricht Vlaai (flan), is served to the hotel guests.
Considering the price of the rooms (Breakfast not included), and the fairly up-market ambience in the MABI hotel, we did expect there to be a minibar in the room, but that unfortunately was not the case.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Located within walking distance to the station and the old town, this hotel in a former cinema is an ideal place if you like a good night sleep. Its decor is very modern although for my taste they could have opted for brighter colours. ONe of the great attractions of this hotel are the many freebies. every afternoon they serve free cake and coffee between 3 and 5 and free proseco and olives between 5 and 7. in addition, you can take away sweets, apples and oranges, biscuits and even icecreams. They also offer plenty to read, in addtion to papers they have a wide range of magazines and books. Breakfast is plentiful and served in a great room. The bedrooms are of a decent size. The only downsides to this hote for me was the matttras which was a bit too soft but that is a minor quibble about an otherwise great place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roodkapje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

A great hotel with large rooms and bathroom. Central to all the shops and attractions. An old cinema, it has been renovated to a high standard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CulturalAttache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#9 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mabi

Property: Hotel Mabi
Address: Kleine Gracht 24, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mabi 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mabi City Centre is situated in the historical part of the city, in a building where the Cinema Maastricht offered its services. The theme of this unique hotel is therefore, Film. The hotel wants to revive and preserve its nostalgic past by offering its own cinema. Furthermore, the hotel offers a library, a salon and free Wi-Fi. The design of the rooms is contemporary, with warm colors and big windows. The theme Film is also present in the rooms in the form of large posters from classical blockbusters and of course Oscar winners. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, luxury bedding, modern bathrooms and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel is ideally located on a quiet courtyard in the center of Maastricht, which will guarantee a good night's sleep. In the Salon you can enjoy your day with a cup of fresh coffee or tea accompanied with a piece of delicious local pie, while reading a magazine or book. In addition, Mabi City Centre offers in the afternoons an aperitif with a glass of wine and olives and in the mornings a tasty breakfast buffet is served. The reception is at your disposal 24/7 and will gladly help you to find your way in Maastricht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing