We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bokes

Bokes
Ranked #81 of 399 Restaurants in Maastricht
Cuisines: Dutch, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Foot weary from exploring Maastricht, we stopped here for a quick lunch. Food was simple but went down well with everyone - a French onion soup, a mozzarella and pesto panini, an open sandwich with Old Amsterdam cheese, bacon and mustard mayonnaise (mine - delicious!) and the ubiquitous bowl of frites. Our waiter was super-friendly, and even gave us a tip for a brilliant beer cafe for later in the day (Take One over in Wyk).

Kids were pleased with the free Chubba Chups to finish.

All up, great and just what we wanted for a casual lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    59
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great for for a fair price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant several timesover the last 10 years. We visit Maastricht on a regular basis and Bokes has become the favorite stand-by restaurant for us. When we don't have any specific plans for dinner, we usually settle on Bokes and whe have never been disappointed. The wait staff is efficient and friendly. The menu is rich and their prices are fair. I can especially recommend the 3 or 4 course special menus they serve every night. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“From a tip from a colleague to a tip to you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife got a tip from a colleague for this restauarant. From the outside it looks very unassuming, but wait till you get inside! We didn't book ahead and were lucky to get a table for two next to the kitchen. The kitchen is open, tiny, but efficient. Two chefs cooking in a tiny area but delivering excellent plates of food!

We opted both for the fixed 3 course menu (with different mains) which will cost you around 30 euro per person. For the quality of food you get, not very expensive.

The restaurants has two floors (which is not obvious from the outside) and is run in a very efficient and friendly manner. Kudos to the staff!

We have found a new favourite restaurant in Maastricht!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank clogs1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, well priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

At Bokus we enjoyed a nice dinner. Staff is friendly and the food is simply good. Their salads are great. They serve great wines for friendly prices. I will definitely come back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
471 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Decent cafe food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

No complaints - the food at Bokes was good, but the place was a little deserted for our business lunch there....lucky the company was good!
Service was okay, no complaints, and for a cheapish, easy lunch Bokes was alright.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bokes also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Bokes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing