We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athene - CLOSED

Athene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

free aperitif and digestif. Friendly welcome and the food is excellent. If you aren't a big eater, a starter will do as a meal. If you are a big eater, the portions are very big so 'fill yer boots'. Highly recommended for kids too, not expensive and the fish and chips got a big yes from my son!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lukedulot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great food & ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the food here and will be visiting again before we leave Maastricht. On being seated and given a menu you're presented with a free glass of Ouzo which is a great start. The menu is fairly extensive with good selections of fish & meat and a few vegetarian dishes.

The food was really well cooked and very tasty and the portion sizes were nice & large - a meat eaters delight. A half lite of house red was just under 9 euros and a glass of coke just over 2 euros - as was a coffee.

The total bill for the 2 of us was just over 40 euros which was great value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hands down the best Greek food I've ever had in a restaurant- and even better than when I was in Greece.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I just stumbled upon this restaurant and decided to give it a try. Right away the service was amazing. They brought two complimentary shot glasses of ouzo shortly after we were seated. The server was very helpful and took the time to explain what the different dishes entailed and to answer our many questions regarding the menu. I ordered the chicken plate which came with 2 chicken breasts, fried potatoes and salad. The chicken was moist and nicely spiced. The atmosphere was inviting and friendly. We will definitely return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank athelia237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Poor food quality - greasy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

As I live in Maastricht since a couple of weeks me and my boyfriend try different restaurants.
Yesterday we walked by this restaurant and decided to try it, as I am a big fan of greek food.

The restaurant is not really cosy, the benches very uncomfortable, the atmosphere like in a sports club restaurant.

The menu is quite big, unfortunately no plates where u have mixed fish and meet (like calamari and souvlaki) but only the choice between different meet plate oder different fishplate)

The service is nice, the portions are big.
The food quality not very good, everything was kind of greasy.

Prices for a normal main dish ~15€+

I really love good greek food, but unfortunately this was my first and last visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ginaba1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athene also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing