We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful dishes and wines and a great ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga

Beluga
Ranked #3 of 369 Restaurants in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Dutch, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leiden, Zuid-Holland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful dishes and wines and a great ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a great experience! After visiting De Librije and Oud Sluis we choose to visit Beluga this year. The quality of the dishes was imo the same as De Librije and Oud Sluis (perfect!), but there was one big difference: the atmosphere! It was much more relaxed and less uptight. All in all I must say that therefore out of these three restaurants this is our winner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stedentripsvansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    71
    22
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate on Friday 28th June - having flown from England for our wedding anniversary, specifically with the intention to visit this restaurant. With this in mind, we had very high expectations and hopes for the meal.

Danielle de Boer greeted us on arrival at which point we enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks. Hans van Wolde then came around to discuss his menu choices for the evening - a lovely touch to meet the owner/chef.

We chose the 10 course tasting menu with the sommelier recommended wine accompaniment. Before our first course we enjoyed a selection of amuse bouche - a delicate olive cake, a watermelon/tomato drink, a cucumber/yoghurt bite and a delicious dim-sum style dumpling. Not all these were to our own taste but they were exquisitely presented.

A further two course came before our starter! A wonderful creation of Limburg mushroom (presented 10 different ways) and a delicate basil/tomato creation - made interesting as my wife isn't a huge fan of savoury ice-cream but she really enjoyed these dishes, which both made use of savoury icecream/sorbet.

The 10 course were phenomenal. With polite and attentive young waiting staff, who were smartly dressed and who also spoke very good English, ensuring we knew what each course was. The paired wines were also exemplary. In retrospect, the 8 course meal would have been enough even for our greedy palates - the 10 course meal did become a bit of a struggle towards the end. I was also sozzled by the time we left - nearly a full 5 hours after arriving!! There are also some excellent show-piece/talking points that appear during the meal - adding real theatre to the evening.

We have been lucky enough to enjoy food in some really top restaurants but Beluga was quite simply one of the very best culinary experiences we have every had. It exceeded our expectiations and I would go so far to say it was probably the most enjoyable meal we have had to date.

The bill was expensive, but we felt we were given an evening that will be very hard to recreate, let alone beat.

We visited Maastricht only to visit this restaurant. We left very, very impressed. We will be recommending it to anyone who asks us for suggestions of somewhere good to eat. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dj_akademix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beluga Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food. Excellent wines. Excellent service.
Value for your money? That's completely subjective.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joop d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been there yesterday. Food was brilliant and original. Loved all courses. Took an eight course arrangement and enjoyed every moment. The varity of tastes and colors was just marvelous. I wish they had more fruits and vegetables in the menu.

I've been to many good restaurants in my life but this is one of the best, food wise. I cannot say I admired the ultra modernist- minimalist setting, but that is a matter of personal taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZviyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Intricate flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tried the ten course chef's special. As expected for a michelin two-star, the ingredients were fresh and the food delicious, but what makes this special is the delicate play of different flavours that you get in every course. Even between courses, there were delicious little breads with butter or olive oil to showcase the local ingredients. Definitely worth a visit if you're anywhere nearby.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShortFatUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing